RSS Feed

Spring Chick

 I made this card for the Try a New Technique Challenge yesterday.  I think it was after dinner that I first got down to my stamping space.  I have been so inspired by the card that Beate sent to me in the mail that I pulled the layout and some of the colors directly from it.  I did change it up a bit though too. 

I think my favorite thing about this card is the lacy strip.  It is so easy to make, but yet it looks elegant.  It reminds me of a nice lace table cloth.  One you might put out for a Easter brunch.  I think that is fitting since this is an Easter themed card.  To make it I took my strip of Whisper White card stock and I used my 3/16″ corner rounder with the guard removed to add the scalloped edge.  I then punched each scallop with the 1/8″ hole punch and then added the 2 holes on top of it with the 1/16″ hole punch.  I then repeated my 1/8″ holes and I was done. 

The main image is stamped with Basic Gray ink on Shimmery White card stock and then watercolored in with my AquaPainter and Watercolor Wonder Crayons in So Saffron and Pumpkin Pie.  I then sponged around the chick with Soft Sky and Certainly Celery ink.  The sign for the sentiment was made by stamping Happy Easter in Chocolate Chip ink on Shimmery White card stock and punching it out with the Word Window Punch,  I then layered it on top of a Designer Label punch in Chocolate Chip and trimmed around the bottom of my Word Window layer. 

I think the rest is fairly simple to figure out. 

Jenn

Stamps – A Good Egg

Card stock – Taken with Teal, Chocolate Chip, Bali Breeze dsp, Whisper White, Shimmery White

Ink – Basic Gray, WWC in So Saffron and Pumpkin Pie, Chocolate Chip, Certainly Celery and Soft Sky

Accessories –  Sponge, 3/16″ corner rounder, dimensionals, 1/8 and 1/16″ hold punches, chocolate chip taffeta ribbon, word window punch, designer label punch, earth elements buttons, mini glue dots, AquaPainter

5 responses »

  1. What a cute card, that lacey strip is so nice.

    Reply
  2. Gracious sakes, this is absolutely adorable. I love the lacy strip and the colors you chose. Well done!!

    Reply
  3. Yeah, wow on that strip. You did a great job. That little chick is so cute, everytime my dd sees a card with it, she remarks, “Easter is right before my birthday!”. She’s so cute. Adorable work.
    Misty

    Reply
  4. The whole card is great, but I REALLY LOVE the lacy strip.

    Reply
  5. Adorable! (Love that green bg paper!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

