RSS Feed

Groovy Friend

Posted on

 I hope you aren’t tired of seeing scallops because I am by no means tired of my Priceless Classy Brass template.  I have been using it a lot and it has not left my stamping table yet.  This morning I looked up the color challenge and rushed off to my table to complete it.  Somewhere in the process I grabbed Groovy Guava instead of Purely Pomegranate and that’s how I came up with this card, but I really like the results. 

My base is a piece of Wild Wasabi card stock that is stamped with two of the images from Friendly Flowers.  I just stamped them alternately down the right side and bottom after stamping off once so it wasn’t too dark.  The Groovy Guava panel is scalloped using my Priceless Classy Brass Template.  I then added paper piercing with the help of my mat pack along the right side and bottom of this panel.  I then sponged all of the edges with groovy guava ink.  I stamped the largest image from Friendly Flowers three times, once on my Groovy Guava layer, once on Purely Pomegranate and then once on So Saffron.  After I stamped it on my Groovy Guava layer I used my Crop-a-Dile to punch out the 3/16″ holes in the image and added a So Saffron layer to the back of this panel to show through.  I cut out my Pomegranate flower and then punched the So Saffron one with my 1 1/4″ circle punch.  The small flower is from the smallest circle in the set and is stamped on Wild Wasabi paper and cut out.  I added a silver brad and then popped up the flower on a pop up glue dot.  The entire panel is on dimensionals and with the help of my horizontal slot punch I wove the Purely Pomegranate double stitched ribbon under this layer. 

I debated about posting this card since I had messed up so badly with Today’s color combination, but I liked my results too much to not add it to my site.  It’s 3:30 now and hopefully I’ll get to the right combination of Purely Pomegranate, Wild Wasabi and So Saffron.  The boys and I exercised, ran to the store and completed a few other chores today.  Some days I have no idea how I get anything done.  Often I am asked that by my readers.  All I have to say is that even if I have a hectic day I devote time to make at least one card.  The more I keep to my one card or project a day the happier I am. 

Well keep your fingers crossed that the snow passes us up.  I’m thinking that everyone is stocking up for a big storm because I had to crawl into the cooler to get a gallon of skim milk.  The Kroger near us is wiped almost completely clean.  Have a great day!

Jenn

5 responses »

  1. I love your card! I especially like the punched holes that reveal the little bit of So Safron! Very pretty!

    Reply
  2. It’s beautiful Jenn, wonderful design! I’m glad you chose to share it! Love the design, and Groovy Guava looks pretty good in your hands! I have to check out that template now!

    Reply
  3. What a great card, I love the holes revealing the colors underneath.

    Reply
  4. this is so great-love it!

    Reply
  5. Very cute! Love the punched hole around the outside!! So clever!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

