RSS Feed

Gift Card Holders

 Yesterday the Technique Challenge was to make a gift card holder.  I have been wanting to try these out for months since I saw the tutorial floating around on the Internet, but like a lot of things I didn’t have the chance to sit down and try it.  I started with a 4 1/4 X 11″ piece of Certainly Celery cardstock and then ran the Duckies wheel along the inside bottom edge.  I formed my gift card portion and then set to decorating the outside.  I wanted to try to make a gender neutral card that could hold a gift card for a baby.  I then layered a piece of Whisper White that measures 4 X 2 3/4″ and then added a piece of Summer Picnic designer series paper.  To create the onsie I used my Stamp-a-ma-jig.  I first stamped it onto the Whisper White layer and then onto the striped Summer Picnic dsp.  I wanted my stripes to be perfectly horizontal.  After I cut the onsie out I set it up on dimesionals and then stamped the star on Barely Banana cardstock and that too is cut out and set up on dimensionals.  I then simply added the sentiment on Barely Banana cardstock and doodled with my white gel pen around the edge.  I also used the ticket corner punch and white taffeta ribbon on this card.  I hope it is gender neutral enough, but I think it may look a little boyish. 

Sweet Baby Recipe

stamps – By Ones & By Twos, Duckie Wheel (inside)

paper – Certainly Celery, Whisper White, Summer Picnic dsp, Old Olive, Barely Banana

ink – Basic Gray

Accessories – Ticket Corner Punch, White Taffeta ribbon, Large Oval Punch, Word Window Punch (inside), Sticky Strip

 The first card came together so quickly and easily that I decided to make a second one, this time with It’s My Birthday C.C. Designs stamp set.   I used the same cardstock base since I had cut the original piece of cardstock in half and it was still sitting on my table.  This time I used some American Crafts patterned paper.  Lulu is stamped on Whisper White cardstock with Basic Gray ink and I used a million colors to color her in with.  I think I listed them all in my recipe, but I always seem to miss something along the way.  I then matted this layer on Ruby Red cardstock.  The sentiment is stamped in Ruby Red ink and punched out with the large Oval punch and then layered on an Old Olive designer label punch.  I added silver brads and set this layer up on dimensionals.  You can barely see the ribbon but it is tied up with some retired Ivory Organdy ribbon. 

Yesterday was my first day alone with the boys from sun up to sun down.  We played outside for hours and took the long way to walk to the neighborhood park without the wagon.  I must have exhausted Evan because he was standing next to the dinner table screaming at me in an oh, so lovely way when he simply collapsed to the floor sound asleep!  It was so quick and so fast.  He then just crawled from the kitchen floor onto the carpet inside my bedroom doorway and went to sleep.  It was only 5 p.m.  Today my mom and sister are coming down to help keep the boys distracted for the day.  Hopefully Roger will be home around dinner time, or at least the boys bedtime.  I guess I deserve a few days alone since I’ve been talking about going to Convention this summer and it will be longer than 2 days. 

Well I hope you all have a fantastic day.  We are certainly taking advantage of all of the lovely spring weather.  Hopefully the thunderstorms in the forecast will breeze right by.

Jenn

What Really Matters (is the presents) Recipe

stamps – It’s My Birthday by C.C. Designs

paper – Certainly Celery, American Crafts pp, Ruby Red, Whisper White 

ink- Basic Gray, Close to Cocoa, Chocolate Chip, Summer Sun, Ruby Red, Taken with Teal, Elegant Eggplant, Creamy Caramel, Old olive, night of Navy

accessories – Ivory Organdy ribbon, large oval punch, Designer Label punch, 1/16″ hole punch, word window punch, silver brads, dimensionals, AquaPainter

5 responses »

  1. These are darling. I love that little onsie. Some day I’ll break down and buy some CC designs images. It’s just so hard to choose.
    Msity

    Reply
  2. PS I keep forgetting to say thanks for the tip on the dresser drawers and folding clothes. My oldest is seven but wears a size 10 and his clothes were a disaster. He tells me how much better he likes it now. Thanks.
    Misty

    Reply
  3. Love the first one, but the second is super cute too!

    Reply
  4. fun projects! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  5. Cute, wonderful cards.
    Cody often tires from exhaustion too and we know he’s asleep when he is quiet!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

