RSS Feed

Pretty Exotic and a Few Random Tidbits

 Yesterday the color combination was Chocolate Chip, Pretty in Pink and Certainly Celery.  Definitely a great spring color combo, so I pulled out my Stitched Exotics set and went to work.  A long time ago I had made a card with Pick a Petal with this type of layout.  To start I cut my cardstock to 10 1/2 X 5 1/4 and scored at 5 1/4 to make a square card.  I then took a metal ice bucket along with my hobby blade and cut around the curve of the bucket on the front of my card.  I then took my patterned Berry Bliss paper and did the same.  However, something was missing from the edge and it looked to blah for me.  Then I got this great idea to make a lacy scalloped edge.  To make the Certainly Celery scallops I took a strip of paper and punched a hole with my 3/4″ circle punch.  Then around that hole I punched out a circle with my 1″ circle punch.  This left me with a 1″ circle with a hole in the middle.  I simply attached those circles along the edge of my patterned paper.  I know it probably is about as clear as mud with me typing out my madness, so I will try to get a tutorial up in the next day or so. 

After all of my Certainly Celery circles were attached I used the 1/4″ hole punch and added the holes in the Berry Bliss paper under each circle.  In my insane world I decided to freehand some paper piercing around each circle and then used my mat pack for the straight edges.  I wanted the lacy look to stand out a bit more so I heavily sponged each layer in it’s matching color.  The rest of the card was pretty simple stamping.  I added the flourish, flower with jumbo pewter eyelet and sentiment from Absolutely Fabulous.  I also decorated the inside of the card with more Berry Bliss designer series paper. 

Yesterday my mom and sister came down to help me with the boys since Roger was still in Springfield at a conference.  We attempted to hang Colin’s bedroom curtains, but the wall anchors that were provided in the package just weren’t working, so we had to run to the hardware store and ended up waiting to hang them when Roger got home.  I promise I’ll have a photo of those later this week as well.  We spent a great deal of time at th park, playing in the backyard and collecting “spiders”.  That is what Colin and Evan were calling the pieces of Pampas Grass I had them helping me pick up in the backyard.  I cut it down on a very windy day and a lot of the clippings spread over our yard.  They loved their chore and it was a challenge to get the biggest “spider” to put in the yard waste bag. 

I also wanted to say Thank You to all of you who have offered my congratulations on winning the March Envelope Extravaganza Contest from Stampin’ Up!.  I was completely floored to have been chosen as the winner, and I am enjoying my free stamps.  It was my goal this year to enter at least one contest a month, and I’m still plugging along with them.  I don’t have a photo of my project at this point in time.  I think I took one but with both of our computers dying at the same time I can’t remember where I saved it. 

The last random tidbit involves comments here at my blog.  I love hearing from everyone and I appreciate your comments.  I do like to make it as easy as possible to comment, so I normally don’t have my Authentication turned on.  However, I have started to get a bit of SPAM, so I had to turn it on.  I hope you all understand, but I try to keep my blog as free of SPAM as possible. 

I hope you have a great day and are having as wonderful weather as we have been lately.

Jenn

Pretty Exotic Recipe

stamps – Stitched Exotics, Absolutely Fabulous

paper – Chocolate Chip, Berry Bliss dsp, Certainly Celery, Whisper White

ink – Chocolate Chip, Berry Bliss dsp, Certainly Celery, Whisper White

accessories – 3/4 and 1″circle punches, Crop-a-Dile, jumbo peweter eyelet, dimensionals, mat pack, 1/4″ hole punch

4 responses »

  1. I am glad you got the comment section fixed because I wanted to tell you yesterday that this card is AWESOME!!!!

    Reply
  2. Beautiful card! Thanks for the instructions! And a HUGE congratulationso on winning the contest! That is fabulous! Can’t wait to see the project!

    Reply
  3. Gorgeous as usual. And, congrats on your win, I am certain that your entry was outstanding.

    Reply
  4. yah!! congrats on winning that! that’s super exciting!
    i haven’t been over here in a little while…all the cards are looking great…
    are you done with artisan yet?

    talk to ya soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

