RSS Feed

Dare to Dream

Posted on

 Well, I figured since it’s been a long time since I had a nice long stamping session that I’d make up for it today.  The Ways to Use It challenge was to emboss and image before watercoloring it in.  I love to do this because it is so much easier to keep your color in the lines.  The little raised ridge does a lot for that. 

I haven’t played with this set in about 2 or 3 years, but I thought it would be perfect for the challenge.  I inked my stamp in Versamark and then immediately in Basic Gray classic ink.  I then stamped it onto Whisper White and heat embossed it with crystal clear embossing powder.  I used Watercolor Wonder Crayons to color my images in.  I had stamped the castle a total of 4 times and did a lot of cutting on this one.  Since I wanted the focus to be the castle I kept the rest of the layout really simple.  I also used colors I almost never use, but it seems more like a fairy tale castle being purple.  I think purple is a very majestic color, so Lovely Lilac and Orchard Opulence did the trick today.

I spent so much time coloring and cutting that it is now almost time to head back to school to get Colin.  All in all, this card took a little over an hour from start to finish.

Jenn

stamps – Dreams & Dragons, Warm Words

paper – Whisper White, Lovely Lilac

ink –  Soft Sky, Basic Gray Classic Ink, Watercolor Wonder Crayons in Lovely Lilac, Orchard Opulence Old Olive, Close to Cocoa

Accessories – AquaPainter, crystal clear ep, heat gun, dimensionals

technique – Embossed Watercolor

8 responses »

  1. very pretty and well worth the time!

    Reply
  2. Amazingly beautiful! I love it.

    Reply
  3. this is so pretty, love how you did the clouds e three dimensional and your coloring of the castle, a fantastic card.

    Reply
  4. Love the simple layout! The castle really stands out as do the clouds. Fabulous job, Jenn!

    Reply
  5. I’ll say! The dimension on this card Rocks! My daughter totally loves it…like in a way that she wants me to make her one just like it. Smile.
    Take care.
    Misty

    Reply
  6. Very pretty and girly! Love the coloring and special cutting! I think an hour is pretty good, it takes me that long to make *simple* cards, and this one looks like it took a LOT longer!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

