RSS Feed

Celebrate!

Posted on

 What is my favorite part of browsing blogs?  Seeing someone use a tool in a whole new way!  I read every comment that is left here on my blog and if a link is left I’ll often check the site out and return the favor.  I love that it exposes me to brand new blogs.  Well, the other day Travelingmama left a comment and when I visited her blog I was drawn to the last card in this post.  She used her Mat Pack to make patterned paper.  I was WOW’d, and I added it to my “To Try” list, but it was one of those things that was calling my name.  So I pulled out my mat pack along with a few Stampin’ Write markers and went to work.  I used Close to Cocoa, Really Rust, Not Quite Navy, Old Olive and simply colored in the largest circles.  When I was done I went back and outlined each one in Basic Black with the smaller side of the marker.  I also added a white dot in the center of each with my white gel pen.  Now, this was time consuming for this size of a piece, but I have to say that the result is well worth the time involved.  I did keep the rest of the card fairly simple so that I could show off my hand-made pattered paper.  Thanks Tina for the new technique added to my favorite list. 

Jenn

stamps – Doodle This, Just Celebrate

paper – really rust, whisper white, not quite navy

ink – Stampin’ Write markers in Basic Black, Close to Cocoa, Really Rust, Old Olive and Not quite navy, Whisper White craft, Versamark

accessories – mat pack, signo gel pen, 5/8″ chocolate chip grosgrain, 3/16″ corner rounder, white and crystal clear ep, heat gun, mini glue dot, earth elements button, dimensional

11 responses »

  1. I was just about to say what cute patterned paper that was, and then I read on. You’re amazing. It looks so fun and perfect. You know what stinks though. Every time I try to go to travelingmama’s blog my internet locks up and then I have to shut it all down. She looks to have such great stuff. I want to get an open polka dot background stamp. That would make this easier. Take care.
    Misty

    Reply
  2. Magnificent! It does look like it would be timeconsuming but TOTALLY worth it…FABulous work!

    Reply
  3. Awesome card. I was going to ask about the dp…I will have to try this.

    Reply
  4. Wow, that’s cool! I’ll have to try that sometime.

    Reply
  5. Love the colors. You disappeared off my blog roll so I fixed it… I was missing your blog!

    Reply
  6. Oh my goodness, that looks great! Love the background you created!
    Have a great weekend
    Hugs and smiles

    Reply
  7. Love the paper that you created Jenn! It looks fantastic! xx

    Reply
  8. This is fabulous! Thanks for sharing her blog, I’m so going to try this!

    Reply
  9. very cool, Jenn! When I looked at the card- my first reaction was “Cool patterned paper. I wonder who makes that.” It was worth the time!

    Reply
  10. I also thought cool paper until I read that you made it. Then I was like, that is super cool paper!!

    Reply
  11. awesome! Now doing that with the mat pack will be on my to do list! Love how you outlined each circle and put a dot in the middle!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

