RSS Feed

Joyous Holiday

Posted on

 On Sunday we had pretty cool weather so I sat down and worked on my May Christmas cards.  I paired it up with the Featured Stamper Challenge and I love my final result.  I also love the fact that I have 50 Christmas cards sitting nice and neatly in a box all ready for the hustle and bustle of Christmas. 

This weekend the Featured Stamper was dawnsing and I chose this card from her gallery to CASE.  First off I liked the simplicity of it and secondly I loved how she used the striped paper on her card.  So I kept the layout and striped paper, but I changed up a bunch of things.  The first thing I changed was the stamp set.  I used the sentiment from Trees Three, a retired Stampin’ Up! set.  I also changed the color scheme to fit in with the Wintergreen designer series paper.  I stamped the sentiment with my Stamp-a-ma-jig in Always Artichoke and then added my Always Artichoke and Sage Shadow layer.  I then used my mat pack to add paper piercing along the top edge over this layer.  Did you know that the top row of your Mat pack has 29 holes for piercing?  I do now that I made 10 of these cards. 

To make the squares I used my 1 3/8″ square punch and punched out the Wintergreen paper and then matted them on 1 1/2″ Whisper White squares.  Each square is set up on dimensionals.  I omitted the brads that dawnsing had in the corners of her squares and instead added Earth Elements buttons with mini glue dots. 

I like that this isn’t a traditional Christmas card, but still looks wintry. 

Jenn

stamps – Trees Three

paper – Kraft, Always Artichoke, Sage Shadow, WW, Wintergreen dsp

ink – Always Artichoke

accessories – SAMJ, mat pack, dimensionals, 1 3/8″ square punch, earth elements buttons, mini glue dots

8 responses »

  1. Great card. The way you used the patterned paper here is very clever!

    Reply
  2. First of all Jenn, I have to say THANK YOU SO MUCH! I love the card and Tessa was like, “for me!” She was so excited to get happy mail. I kept most of the images for myself and she colored a couple. She was so proud. You are so GOOD to really be working on those Christmas cards. You amaze me. It was 85 here yesterday and my husband joked…didn’t we just build a fire three days ago. So crazy.
    Take care.
    Misty

    Reply
  3. Very pretty and festive. Love the design.

    Reply
  4. Gorgeous card! I love the clean cut look.
    I can’t believe you already have 50 Christmas cards done. You are amazing!
    Hugs and smiles

    Reply
  5. Wow! you are organised Jenn! Its a great design, I love it! xx

    Reply
  6. Love this! Great colors, great piercing, and I’m so jealous you have even MORE Christmas cards ready! Good for you!

    Reply
  7. I love how this turned out! I think it’s nice to get away from the traditional colors. Gives everyone something different to look at.

    Reply
  8. love your work. Just love the briefcase card.

    patty
    http://www.paperpiecingpatty.blogspot.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

