RSS Feed

Wild Child

Posted on

ETA:  This is a re-post since the one from this morning has gone MIA somewhere in cyberspace.

On Monday, another of my Artisan Award projects was featured on Stamper’s Showcase.  This time it was a 12 X 12 scrapbook page that I made of Colin.  This is one of my favorite photos of him from a trip to the Brookfield Zoo.  As soon as we got to the zoo he had to have his face painted and he wore that makeup all day long.

Anyone who knows Colin, knows that he has quite a wild streak.  He is always moving and talking as long as he is awake and sometimes when he is asleep too.  He is 100% all boy and has tons of energy to prove it.  One of his favorite books is Where the Wild Things Are and on occasion we have been known to call him Wild Child.  Since he was striped like a tiger I figured it was an appropriate title for him. 

To go along with his wildness I used a wild layout and have a strips of paper along with nice bright colors.  The base is a 12 X 12 piece of textured Chocolate Chip cardstock and is layered with Summer Picnic designer series paper.  After I had my strips down I used my sewing machine to sew around the outside of the  layout.  It’s not as easy on a 12 X 12 page as it is on a cardfront.  I learned that the hard way.  I used the Jumbo Outline alphabet and stamped it onto the Pumpkin Pie paper from Summer Picnic and then cut the letters out.  I added paper piercing inside of the circles, but that is hard to see in this photo (which is terrible and I apologize for that).  I also added Earth Elements buttons that were threaded with Linen thread. 

Jenn

4 responses »

  1. oh, wow. what a great page! i bet you smile every time you see it!! i know i would! great use of colors, fantastic layout…and what a cute little boy!

    Reply
  2. I loved this page when I saw it on the showcase. great entry and much better when you can see all the extra details you added. wonderful layout-fun and different.

    Reply
  3. LOVE this page! Great picture of him, love how you did the layout around it!

    Reply
  4. Fantastic photo of the little cutie. Great page! Love all the little details.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

