RSS Feed

Classy Dad and Blog Candy

Posted on

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

First let me say that this idea is not mine.  Jackie of Addicted to Stamping had posted to SUDSOL that she had a new blog and wanted to let other’s know of it.  I am so happy that I clicked through her link because she has amazing tutorials up there.  You have to check it out!

As soon as I saw her tutorials I had to print them out and put them right in the middle of my work area.  I was so intrigued by her Suit card because I am sometimes intimidated by complicated folds, ie. the shirt cards that were the rage last year, but this was so super simple and she had it all spelled out with photos of each step. 

The base is a full card that measures 5 1/2 X 8 1/2 of Soft Sky cardstock.  The top black piece is 5 1/2 X 4 and the Soft Sky designer prints paper is 3 X 4. 

Now I know you are all wondering what Blog Candy I have up my sleeve.  To thank you for dealing with the mess I made of my blog this weekend I am giving away something fun and something that you can hopefully make better use of than I did.  I have a set of 24 Prismacolor Colored Pencils that I will send to one lucky winner.  So how do you win?  Simply leave a comment here with a fond memory you have of your Father or a fond memory that you have of your kids with thier dad.  I feel it’s only fitting in a post with a Suit card.  I will draw a winner using Random.org this Thursday morning at 10 am.

Jenn

stamps – None!

paper – Soft Sky, Basic Black, Soft Sky designer series paper

ink – none

Accessories – scoring tool, Neutrals buttons, mini glue dots, Chocolate Chip Satin Ribbon, scotch tape

34 responses »

  1. sunshinevickie

    Wow! I love this card! It looks like one of my husband’s suits!

    Reply
  2. WOW this is very very nice!!! Makes me remember prom or that special date. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  3. Too cool! I’m headed over there right now to see the tutorial!

    Reply
  4. Wow Jenn…this is stunning. Even the paper looks like it has been to a drycleaner! My fav memory of my DH with my kids has to be their many jaunts to either the airport or the rail yard. They love it and Mommy gets a break…grins!

    Reply
  5. Wow! Very cute! The only thing that popped in my head as I looked at your card was my dad in a tux at my wedding. He is a jeans & t-shirt guy, so it was so awesome to finally see him dressed up!

    Reply
  6. Jenn,

    Love the new look of the blog and the satin tie is fabulous!

    It’s a good life!
    Terri E.

    Reply
  7. Love it! I also plan on checking the tutorials. Favorite memories of the kids with my hubby ….playing the guitar and my son,3yrs old, doing a Tom Jones impression with a make-believe mike.

    Reply
  8. Becky Selecman

    Beautiful card. The fondest memory I have of my dad is him putting my feet on top of his feet and “dancing” with me. Made me feel like a princess. My dad passed away 20 years ago but I still think of this special memory often.

    Reply
  9. StampinCathy

    Wow lovin the new look of your blog. WOW this card is just to stunning. It doesn’t even look like you used paper. Count me in on this sweet candy. Thanks for a chance.

    Reply
  10. Memories of my dad? Hummm… they things I can remember the most is trying to keep up with him when he was walking, he is 6’3″ and always in a hurry. When I was a kid I was always practically running trying to keep up and goodness if I stopped to look at something I had to run that much faster cause he didn’t even know I had stopped.

    Thanks for the chance to win the pencils.

    Tammy

    Reply
  11. Totally awesome! I love this and will be checking out that blog. Wowsa!
    I have prismas, so don’t count me in yur blog candy!!
    My fondest memory is of my son’s hand clinging to his daddy’s finger right after he was born. Priceless.

    Reply
  12. beautiful card.

    fond memory to share:
    I remember coming in the room 7 years ago, and seeing dh holding dd, and just the look on his face, said everything. You could tell he loved her more then anything else. You could tell he was so proud of her. It will always be one of my fondest memories.

    Reply
  13. OMG! What an absolutely fantastic card! I just love the tie & Hanky…gotta try that one!
    Thank you for the chance to win those pencils…would love to try them, too!

    My fondest memory of my dad was on a fishing trip. On the hike back down the hill, Dad got his hook caught in the seat of his pants. ‘Round and ’round he went, trying to get “unhooked”, only to have it fly around and catch in his shirt. Of course, we didn’t dare laugh, but there were lots of snickers, and we sure couldn’t get close enough to help…but we did get picture… You just had to be there 🙂

    Reply
  14. Jennifer Bolin

    Ok, I always use Jenn B as my name (which it is…lol), but I just noticed that you have a Jenn B actually listed in your peeps. So, I guess I need to change the name on my comment above about my dad (the jeans & tshirt guy) to Jennifer Bolin instead of Jenn B. Thanks. 🙂

    Reply
  15. How cool is this!! Awesome!! I have a great memory of my dad singing the Marine’s Hymn…From the Halls of Montezuma…with my sister and I on my new tape recorder one Christmas. It’s so special because he died when I was 12, but I still have that tape and can listen to it today at the age of 41. Thanks for reminding me of the fond memory! Hugs!

    Reply
  16. My Dad and I just talked about this memory…When I was about 10 years old, his mother, my grandmother gave me some pink lipstick. My Dad wouldn’t let me wear it and I didn’t understand why. I was crying and upset. My Dad put this BRIGHT pink lipstick on his lips, turned around and I went from crying to laughing instantly!!! I never wanted to wear that lipstick from that day on!
    Thanks for a chance at the blog candy!
    Lori

    Reply
  17. wow, handsome card! My favorite memories of my dad were/are definately his ‘bull in the woods’ stories. Dad would just out of the blue say, “I remember when…..” and suddenly us kids would scramble around his feet to hear the funniest stories ever. To this day, my kids are 20 and 21 and out of the blue grampy will say. “I remember when….” and my kids run to his side!

    Reply
  18. Stephanie Eisele

    Great blog candy. I just love prisma pencils.
    I have lots of pictures with my duaghter asnd my step dad. She could get away with everything around him. My duaghter had a stuffed animal that came with velcro parts. My daughter would stick them all over his face, hair, shirt. I was so cute. I have several pictures.

    Reply
  19. WoW!!! I love the suit card with tie and pocket handkerchief!
    My fondest memory of my dad is him taking me to the roller skating rink on Saturdays. I loved to skate and it was perfect for “daddy and me” time.
    The fondest memory of my DH with my kids is watching his face when he held them for the very first time.
    Thanks for the chance to win!

    Reply
  20. Oh, I really like this masculine card! Very classy looking. TFS.

    Reply
  21. That card is great! My fondest memories of my dad are when he used to take me fishing. We would camp and fish steelhead on the river every April and it was so much fun! I have an adorable picture of me walking next to him with all our fishing stuff when I was like 4 years old.

    Reply
  22. When I was a kid, if I got up early on Saturday morning my Dad would take me with him when he met the train to receive deliveries, and afterwards we would go to the coffee shop where he would buy me a donut.

    Swedie

    Reply
  23. My favorite memory of my kids and their Dad is at the time of their births. Their Daddy held each of our 6 babies before I did, so even though they don’t remember, it’s a sweet and tender thing for them to know.

    Reply
  24. OMGosh, this is fabulous! My favorite memory of my Dad is at my wedding, when he was walking me down the aisle…I had forgetten that we both couldn’t walk side by side through this arch thing because my dress…he had to step thru first….thank goodness he remembered!

    Reply
  25. love the suit — and the ribbon is beautiful – a very handsome card! favorite memory was back in the days my sister and I were going to a concert and my Daddy said what band are you going to see — and I said “Guess Who” and he said “I don’t know any of those bands you listen to” — hehe

    Reply
  26. The fondest memory of my dad…was when I was just learning to ride a bike. My brother and I had gotten bikes for Christmas..and in the spring I remember him running behind me while I was learning. My fondest memory of my boys and their dad..is when they are outside playing sports..I love watching them. Thanks so much for the chance to win.

    Reply
  27. My father passed away when I was only 6 so I have very limited memories of him. More of a general sense of him being a caring, sensitive, silly man who loved his family and was taken from them far too soon.

    Shannon

    Reply
  28. What a wonderful card to make for dad! I just love my dad for the fact that he is always there for us as a family. He is not perfect but yet his unconditional love has been a great example for us.

    Reply
  29. Totally love that card! It’s so classy and the other ones that you posted are awesome too! Great ideas and great inspiration.

    Reply
  30. Cheryl aka Purpl23294

    WOW, no matter who gets the credit for the creation, this is a fantastic card! I have a lot of fond memories of my Father, and luckily we are still creating some. One of the funniest(altho he might disagree) is when he was teaching me how to drive a stick shift car. OOO Boy, was that ever FUN. I got ticked, and hopped out of the car and made HIM drive it home! HA! I did eventually learn, that very same day. Its laughable now.

    Reply
  31. Great card! My fondest memory of my Dad is going on fishing trips with him. He would always help me bait my hook and clean my fish.

    Reply
  32. I love this card – I’ve been doing quite a few masculine cards lately, and this one is fantastice. One of my many fond memories of my Dad is the way he cared for my mum when she had Alzheimers Disease, until he almost ran himself into the ground. And as well as caring for her, he was so concerned that he should be not only a dad to my brother and me – his two adult children, but a mother also, and so he did all the things our mum had done for us when she was well. He passed away two years ago, and I miss him so much. I’m glad I had him for as long as I did. Anne dinkuminkum at yahoo dot co dot nz

    Reply
  33. Jenn, This is just anawsome card. i tried to down load the directions. I emailed Jackie to ask if she still had directions and she has not got back to me on this. Do you still have the directions? If so would you be willing to share. I sure would appreciate them. Thank you mjtc923@yahoo.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

