RSS Feed

Garden Thanks

Posted on

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s been a while since I used Carte Postal, but as soon as I saw the sketch challenge I thought of the square stamp that would be perfect for the diamond element.  I pulled my colors directly from the Le Jardin paper and went from there.  I used River Rock, Very Vanilla, Le Jardin Designer series paper, So Saffron and Soft Sky. 

When ever I work with a sketch I get all of my layers cut to size and then begin to stamp.  It goes so much more quickly for me that way.  After everything was cut I stamped the leaf image repeatedly in River Rock on the 1 1/2″ strip of River Rock cardstock.  I then began on my diamond layers.  Using my Stamp-a-ma-jig to get my main image stamped smack dab in the center I first stamped it in River Rock.  I then used a scrap piece of Very Vanilla and stamped the same image in Groovy Guava and Purely Pomegranate.  The Guava image was punched with the 1 1/4″ circle punch and the Pomegranate one with the 3/4″ circle punch before being put in the Build-a-brad.  My 1/8″ circle punch was used to put the build a brad through the center of the Pomegranate punched image and then dimensionals were used to mount it to the Guava image.  I used dimensionals again and then set it on top of my River Rock stamped piece.  I paper pierced the edges of this layer and used more dimensionals.  The Soft Sky layer is attached to the So Saffron layer with SNAIL and then to the card with more dimensionals.  Can you tell I like dimension? 

I then used a piece of Hodgepodge hardware for my sentiment layer and punched it out with the small oval punch.  My paper piercer was used to make holes for the brads and after those were added I attached the entire front to my base cardstock. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Speaking of gardens, look what we found after the rain cleared on Tuesday.  A real live frog!  I was so excited and just had to save him from our window well.  The boys were just thrilled and this was the first picture Roger got of them seeing the frog.  I can’t wait to scrap these photos. 

Jenn

stamps – Carte Postal

paper – River Rock, Very Vanilla, Le Jardin dsp, Soft Sky, So Saffron

ink – River Rock, Groovy Guava, Purely Pomegranate, Soft Sky, Blue Bayou

accessories – mat pack, dimensionals, 1 1/4″ circle punch, 3/4″ circle punch, 1/8″ hole punch, build a brad, mini glue dots, HPH, small oval punch

7 responses »

  1. this card is fantastic, so elegant, and how wonderful for the boys’ their first frog

    Reply
  2. Very elegant and sweet.
    Lovely photo! The boys look fascinated by it.

    Reply
  3. Beautiful card and what a cute picture! That will be a fun one to scrapbook.

    Reply
  4. Hello there busy lady. Me, not so much. Well, busy with the fam. Your card is beautiful, I love the soft tones and the look of it! Great pic!
    Take care.

    Reply
  5. Melinda McClellan

    Jenn,

    This card is beautiful! Great idea to cut everything first on a challenge, I’m going to have to use that one! Love the frog pic too, my son always has a tree frog (who we’ve named Fred) stuck on his bedroom window every summer.

    Reply
  6. Lovely card! Nice to see Carte Postale again. Love the photo of the boys! So neat capturing that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

