RSS Feed

Absolutely Fabulous

Posted on

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I got the Fall Flowers paper when it first came out.  I just had to have it and then I never really did anything with it.  I am making sure I clear out my stash before August so it was about time I used this paper.  It is hard to see in the photo, but the cardbase is Soft Sky and it is topped with Fall Flowers paper and I folded back the top 1/4″ before I added circles of the punched paper to create a scalloped effect.  To make my window I first found the center of the card and then cut it out with my coluzzle.  The felt flower is on the inside base of the card. 

The sketch is once again from the Got Sketch 101 class.  I realized after I stamped the sentiment that it doesn’t really stand out on this paper, but I like the overall effect. 

Yesterday we played outside almost all day.  The weather has been so nice and has hovered around the lower 80’s with not too much humidity.  After dinner we took the boys to the park and out for ice cream.  We have a little local creamery that does Turtle Tuesdays and the boys and I split a Turtle Sundae.  They are fabulous.  Colin thinks we need to go every Tuesday. 

I have to brag a little bit.  Colin just turned 5 in April, but he has this huge desire to learn to read and spell.  We have the Hooked on Phonics program.  I learned to read through learning Phonics and I love to read.  When I started teaching I realized that not all kids are still taught Phonics.  I can’t tell you how many kids I saw struggling to read.  Anyway, we have been working on it for a week or two now each day.  Colin read his first book by himself yesterday.   I don’t know how much reading he will get in school next year being that he will just be starting Kindergarten. 

He wanted me to share this with everyone.  If you are wondering why he has the eye patch it’s because he has Amblyopia, the technical term for Lazy Eye.  He has to wear the patch over his strong eye to make the lazy eye stronger.  He wears it for 3 hours each day.  He used to wear it all during waking hours, but he has come a long way in our 2 years of having to do this.  He sees a Pediatric Ophamologist every few months.  I forget he even has a patch on until someone mentions it. 

Jenn

Stamps – Absolutely Fabulous

paper – Soft Sky, Fall Flowers dsp

ink- Really Rust

accessories – coluzzle, 1 3/8″ circle punch, scallop punch, dimensionals, felt flower, silver brad, slit and corner rounder punches, River Rock double stitched ribbon

5 responses »

  1. Congratulations Colin, that is wonderful that he wants to read, I love your card the paper and your sketch is wonderful.

    Reply
  2. Hi Jenn,

    Love your blog, you do such beautiful work! Just wanted to say congrats on the little guy! That’s great! I was born with the same problem, both my eyes needed lots of work, I wore a patch and glasses for about 12 years and I no longer need glasses. He can get through it, it sounds like he’s doing great!

    Melissa

    Reply
  3. Great job Colin! My little guy just turned 5 and loves books too, but he isn’t reading yet so you’re doing great!

    I’m a brand new demo (Jenn knows this), not even 2 months. I just finally got all of the paper…someone please tell me what the damage will be to my pocketbook when the new paper comes out (and stamps, and accessories)…I need to start saving!

    Reply
  4. Love your card! Haven’t tried that sketch yet, it’s really cute! That paper looks really cute on the Soft Sky, I never ordered, so don’t be tempting me like this! And tell Colin “Congrats” on his first book! That is so awesome! He should be very proud of himself for taking that initiative and working so hard…those are good traits for a successful future!

    Reply
  5. Congrats on this accomplishment, Colin. It’s awesome to be able to read at such an early age. Good for you!

    Jenn, your card is awesome too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

