RSS Feed

Geometric Buds and a Quick Tutorial

Posted on

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Wow, what a day yesterday was.  By noon I was ready for bed.  It was in the low 80’s and the thunderstorms had cleared out.  Colin and Evan wanted to ride bikes first thing in the morning, so I set up cones to show how far they could go down the sidewalk before they had to turn around.  We then set up the swimming pool, complete with it’s blow up slide and jumped around on the trampoline.  After lunch I was able to sit down and stamp and I think they were both ready for bed.  I just wish they’d nap every once in a while. 

I looked up the sketch challenge and it was a fun one.  I started with a Taken with Teal cardstock base and then layered it with both Old Olive cardstock and Bali Breeze paper of the same color.  I used my ticket corner punch on both pieces and all 4 sides.  I then added my squares.  The largest is 2 1/4″.  The smallest squares start at 1″ and go up 1/16″ from there for all of the layers.  I used Bud Basics and stamped in Regal Rose, Rose Red, Certainly Celery, Old Olive, Apricot Appeal and Pumpkin Pie.  I had this idea in my head for the paper piercing and it didn’t really come together the way I wanted it to.  I spent so much time on this card though that I didn’t want to just scrap it.  It’s now growing on me. 

When I went to add a strip of ribbon I didn’t have the right size or color to fit, so I dyed my own.  I used Stampin’ Up!’s White Taffeta Ribbon and a Stampin’ Write Marker.  I even make a little video to show you just how I did it.  I used my Flip Video camera and I finally learned how to add a Title and Credits.  I tell you I have a long way to go to learn all of the stuff I can do, but slow and steady wins the race. 

ETA:  I didn’t realize how loud the boys were playing GeoTrax in the basement.  Sorry for all of the banging in the background.

6 responses »

  1. Very cute card! Love your dyed ribbon! Great video tutorial too! Good tip about using the marker! I ran it through the pad when I used Kiwi Kiss, but the marker technique looks much neater for the other 48 colors! TFS!

    Reply
  2. Fantabulous card, I love the piercing.

    Reply
  3. White taffeta ribbon…check…it’s on my list now! Thanks for the great tutorial!

    Reply
  4. thanks for the tutorial! I must buy White Taffeta ribbon!!!

    Reply
  5. Cute card Jenn, that layout is great.

    Reply
  6. Hey Jenn! Love this card and your tutorial! I nominated you for an award! Check it out on my blog: onehappystamper.typepad.com. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

