RSS Feed

Lovely Christmas Tree

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I sat down this morning and made my 10 Christmas cards for August.  I know I say this every month, but I really like making my cards in this fashion.  I now have 80 cards complete!  This set only took me about an hour from start to finish. 

I used Lovely as a Tree, a set I borrowed from my mom, and made a mask using my oval coluzzle template.  I then sponged the inner oval with Soft Sky ink and a sponge.  Soft sky is one of my favorite In Colors from this catalog.  I am really going to miss this color, but it will be forever in my stash.  After the oval was sponged I left the mask in place, inked my trees in Always Artichoke and stamped off before stamping it onto my card front.  This gives it a more subtle appearance.  I then stamped the front tree in Always Artichoke and the sentiment from All Holidays in Bravo Burgundy ink.

To dress it up a bit I free handed paper piercing around the oval with my mat pack and paper piercer and then added a nice 5/8″ Bravo Burgundy bow.  To step it up just a bit more I used a Versamarker to trace the ground under the trees.  I sprinkled it with Heat and Stick powder, melted it with my heat gun, added dazzling diamonds and then heat set it again with my heat gun.  It looks so sparkly and elegant in real life and was very hard to photograph. 

Tomorrow is soccer game #2.  We have a later game so hopefully I’ll be able to sit down and stamp tomorrow morning.  I hope you all have a fantastic weekend!

Jenn

Stamps: Lovely As a Tree, All Holidays
Paper: Always Artichoke, Naturals White
Ink: Soft Sky, Always Artichoke, Bravo Burgundy
Accessories: coluzzle (oval mask), mat pack, sponge, heat and stick powder, heat gun, dazzling diamonds, bravo burgundy 5/8″ grosgrain ribbon, versamarker
Techniques: masking
19 responses »

  1. Jenn,
    These are stunning. I just ordered this set. It’s been on my wish list for, oh, say three years. I haven’t even cut the rubber yet! I love this simple, beautiful card. I’m truly inspired.
    Maybe I can do it?!?! Ummm. we’ll see.
    Misty

    Reply
  2. Wow! This is gorgeous!! That oval detail with coloring and piercing is amazing! I can’t believe you have 80 Christmas cards now!! Amazing!

    Reply
  3. Ooooo, I love this!!! So serene!

    Reply
  4. Don’t you just love “Lovely as a Tree”….it’s such a beautiful set. I love your card…so beautiful !!!

    Reply
  5. I love this card. I am going to case this one. I hope it’s okay. You did such a fantastic job. I just found your blog and I am loving what I see. Thanks for sharing your beautiful work.

    Reply
  6. That’s gorgeous Jenn! xx

    Reply
  7. Love this card! It is beautiful~~and has a gentle feeling to the design 🙂

    Reply
  8. Love this! I’m going to do an Inspiration Class with this set this fall. Would love to case this beauty! 🙂

    Reply
  9. This card is just gorgeous! Simple and elegant.

    Reply
  10. I love this card! Simple and elegant! Kristy

    Reply
  11. I’m lovin’ the card,,,

    Reply
  12. Elizabeth Glass

    Jenn,
    This is just beautiful! Thank you so much for sharing! Elizabeth

    Reply
  13. What a pretty card Jenn!

    Reply
  14. Jenn, you have outdone yourself. This has to be one of my favorites of you Christmas cards. Gorgeous!

    Reply
  15. This is so stunning! A fresh holiday look for an old favorite set. Wonderful!

    Reply
  16. Wow! This is gorgeous! I saved it so I can case it!

    Reply
  17. I love it, this is one of my favorite stamps. I like viewing all your cards on your blog too.

    Reply
  18. Gorgeous!!! I love this card it’s so pretty!!

    Reply
  19. I’m a little late seeing this. I just found your Blog today! What a BEAUTIFUL card!! I can’t wait to check out more of your Blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

