RSS Feed

Serene Scene and a Watercoloring Video

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yesterday I sat down to stamp and I made a video on Watercoloring with an AquaPainter.  Often in classes people ask my how I figure out what to color and how to shade.  There is no right way of watercoloring.  It honestly just takes practice and it took me a long time to figure it out.  The easiest way is to start with a bunch of water a little bit of ink smooshed into the lid of the ink pad.  For the first layer I just use a light color wash and then as you will see in the video I then build the color up.  It took me about 16 minutes to make the card from start to finish, but the video is in double time, so it will go much faster. 

I started by stamping a pattern on the base of my card with Frames with a Flourish.  I can’t put that set down.  I really do love it.  I then went on to watercoloring my main image, then masked off where I wanted a soft frame of color and finally added the paper piercing.  The remainder was assembling the card and adding embellishments. 

I am still learning the best set up for taking videos.  The tripod I have doesn’t set to the right level, so I tried using my video camera attached to my Ott light, but it tends to bounce on my table, especially if the kids run into it.  My only countertops are upstairs so that means taking all of my supplies upstairs to tape.  If my video bounces just a bit I apologize. 

Video editing takes up quite a bit of time from start to finish.  I’d like to add a weekly video (starting on a regular basis in September), but I don’t want to take too much extra time away from family time.  So I’d like your opinion. 

1. Would you prefer to see a weekly video?  If this is the majority of the vote, I wouldn’t have a new post 7 days a week.   I’d post Monday – Friday and use the weekends to tape my video, edit it and then upload to You Tube.

2. Would you prefer daily posts 7 days a week?  If that is the case I’d probably have 2 videos here a month. 

I hope you enjoyed the new video.

Jenn

Stamps: Serene Spring, Frames with a Flourish
Paper: Not Quite Navy, Kiwi Kiss, Whisper White
Ink: Basic Gray, Creamy Caramel, Pink Pirouette, Baja Breeze, Riding Hood Red, Kiwi Kiss, Tangerine Tango, Going Gray, Summer Sun, Ruby Red, Not Quite Navy
Accessories: AquaPainter, Sponge, dimensionals, 5/8″ Chocolate chip grosgrain, Fresh Favorites I buttons, mat pack, color spritzer
Techniques: watercoloring, masking

 

10 responses »

  1. Thanks for the tutorial! This card is so pretty and soft.

    Reply
  2. Great tutorial! If I had to choose, I would say a once a week video would be great. Your card is beautiful. You make it look so easy!

    Reply
  3. I love the video! (John Mayer doesn’t hurt!) What I really like is that you speed it up so we can see the entire card start to finish. I vote for whatever works with your schedule, but I do like the video.

    BTW, do you like to use an Aquapainter over a blender pen? I have an AP but haven’t used it yet, I’m used to grabbing my BP still.

    Reply
  4. Very pretty card! Great watercoloring and I love how you put it off to the side! The videos are great, but you do what is best for you and what you want and like to do!

    Reply
  5. That is beautiful – and love the video!

    ..and I’d love to see as many videos as you get around to making…but whatever works for you! I love how when I check out your blog there’s almost always something new to look at!!

    Reply
  6. I am fairly new to card making – so I really enjoyed watching your video. It really helps me to understand different techniques. Your card is just so beautiful – I love the colour combinations.

    As far as the videos, I would say whatever you feel works for your schedule.

    Great video! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  7. Love the video Jenn…thanks so much..what a pretty card!

    I have that stamp set, and also the AP, but no spritzer..I will have to try this out..I love how you off set the layers.

    I just feel lucky that you are making videos..so you do what is comfortable for you…family first. Well,….maybe..LOL!
    Thanks again…Hugs from Oklahoma, Dee 8^)

    Reply
  8. Thank you so much for the video. This was an awesome tutorial. Please, keep ’em coming 🙂

    Reply
  9. Excellent video!! Beautiful card, too!

    Reply
  10. I love the videos Jen, but definitely do not want to see you take time away from your family. So…..whatever works for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

