RSS Feed

Black Magic

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s a little corny, but I read Black Magic and I thought of Halloween.  So I pulled out my current Halloween set and got to work.  If you don’t know what the Black Magic technique is, it is really easy.  Stamp your image on black or really dark cardstock in Whisper White or Very Vanilla Craft ink.  Then used colored pencils, or in my case Stampin’ Up!’s retired metallic pencils and color over it.  I then highlighted the effect even more by tracing around the images with a white gel pen.  Pretty funky huh?  I still think it looks really neat despite the funky feel. 

Well I have a lot to get done today and I have another Stampin’ Up! order coming in.  My mom, sister and I share stamps.  So I better make sure theirs work when they arrive?  I think Inspired by Nature will be one of the firsts on that list. 

Jenn

Stamps: Tasty Sweet, All Holidays
Paper: Sage Shadow, Very Vanilla, Baja Breeze, Mellow Moss, Basic Black
Ink: Whisper White, Metallic Pencils (retired), Basic Black
Accessories: white gel pen, scallop edge punch, very vanilla 5/8″ grosgrain, 1 3/8″ circle punch, scallop circle punch, dimensionals
Techniques: Black Magic
14 responses »

  1. OOOhhhhh – I like this card. Very cool! I will have to try this technique. I wonder what stamp I will use – I get to daydream all day at work about this! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  2. WOW! I love this look.

    Reply
  3. Very cool look! I haven’t tried this technique yet, but I’m going to now!

    Reply
  4. This card is great!! I love the colors!!

    Reply
  5. cute! I have never tried that technique sounds cool

    Reply
  6. Adorable! Great idea to use a Halloween set for this technique. (Candy corn’s my favorite!) Unfortunately I think I sold my Metallic pencils at my open house because they retired, how dumb was that?! TFS Jen!!

    Reply
  7. HAHA Chell (comment 1) sounds like me. I love this technique and you’re execution of it. Now, off to see if I have stamps that will work. 🙂

    Reply
  8. I love this card! It is like a little holiday twist! It definately made me smile.

    Reply
  9. I can’t tell you how happy I am that you’ve made your blog all SU! You make such beautiful art. Bravo!

    Reply
  10. Love, love, love this!! You’re killing me with this set! This technique looks wonderful here and the colors are so unexpected! Awesome!

    Reply
  11. wow jenn!! i love this card! i haven’t done this technique…you got it right on! now i’m going to have to try it!! a really fun card!

    Reply
  12. Wow! How striking! What a great idea for a Halloween card! Thanks for the directions!

    Reply
  13. I had the same thought about the “Black Magic” and Halloween. I thought of doing it with a class or something. So I tried it out on Saturday and it isn’t as pretty with regular colored pencils. I used the house from the House of Haunts set. Not sure if I will do something with it or not. Your card looks so much better than mine did.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

