RSS Feed

Harvest Blessings

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yesterday was a fun day.  Colin had been complaining that his ear hurt when he was chewing.  I had tried the home remedy of putting garlic oil and some cotton in his ear, but the next day he said it still hurt.  So I called the pediatrician and the only time I could get him in was at 9:45 in the morning.  I called the school and went to pick him up.  He was so mad that I was taking him out of school because he didn’t get to finish his paper.  We went to the Dr. and his ear is fine, a little red, but they said it could be because of the garlic oil.  The typanic reading was good though.  His tonsil was a little swollen and because Colin gets strep throat at the drop of a hat we started him on an antibiotic just to be safe.  Normally I wouldn’t do that but we are heading into a 3 day weekend and Colin would get very sick on Saturday and not be able to get an appointment until Tuesday.  He has no fever or stuffiness so they said he wasn’t contagious, so he made me take him back to school.  I filled his prescription and made it home to meet his school bus since Kindergarten is only 3 hours long. 

I got some stamping in and Colin and Evan wanted to make Lily Pads for a snack.  We found the recipe in a Elmo silly snack book, and basically they are spinach pancakes.  We are trying to trick Evan into eating vegetables since he is such a picky eater.  They are topped with a circle of cheese and are quite good.  I was cleaning up and the top rack of the diswasher came tumbling out with dishes breaking as it cascaded down.  My instict was to try to catch it and unfortunately that probably wasn’t a good thing since I got several cuts from broken coffee mugs and my everyday dishes.  I lost about half of my cereal bowls and small dinner plates.  I ended up calling Roger home from work about 45 minutes early because I had glass everywhere and was afraid the kids would get hurt.  I found broken shards all the way in my bedroom, which is on the other end of the kitchen.  The good news is that it looks like we just need replacement parts to fix it and we overnighted them to be here today.  They are already out for delivery!  Three meals a day, plus snacks is a lot of dishes to wash by hand. 

Anyway, you are hear to look at my card and not hear about my fun day yesterday.  This was a quick and simple card I made for the color challenge on SCS.  Kiwi Kiss, Tangerine Tango and Chocolate Chip were so fun to work with and they are some of my favorite colors.  The stamp set is Happy Blessings from the Holiday Mini catalog.  It’s a fun set to color in. 

We are headed into a 3 day weekend, and Colin actually has a 4 day weekend.  I’m in craft fair mode and am finishing up a bunch of projects, so if I’m missing for a day this weekend you know why.  I have a lot to get done and only so much time in a day.

Jenn

All supplies are Stampin’ Up! and can be purchased on my website :  http://igotstamps.stampinup.net

Stamps: Happy Blessings
Paper: Kiwi Kiss, Chocolate Chip, Whisper White, Tangerine Tango
Ink: Chocolate Chip, Close to Cocoa, Creamy Caramel, More Mustard, Tangerine Tango, Pumpkin Pie, Ruby Red, Really Rust, Old Olive, Summer Sun
Accessories: mat pack, tangerine tango striped ribbon, vintage brads, flower brad, dimensionals, AquaPainter, large and wide oval punches
Techniques: watercoloring
5 responses »

  1. Wow, you really had a day! The good news is that it can only get better, right?!
    Your card is just beautiful!

    Reply
  2. What a day! Have you tried the Deceptively Delicious cookbook from Jessica Seinfeld that sneaks pureed veggies into recipes? I have it, pureed a bunch and made a few things…I need to get it out again. It’s a good way to get some veggies in the kiddos, but they still need to eat whole veggies too so that they can see they are supposed to eat them. So sorry about your dishes…I’ve done something similar before, too!

    Reply
  3. Love the card. I’m sorry to hear about your eventful day! I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

    Reply
  4. I hate days like those. The lilly pads sound very good for the kids. I hope they enjoyed them. Cute card too! I hope today is a better day!

    Reply
  5. Sorry to hear that you had a rough day. care to share the pancake recipe?? Sounds good 🙂 Love the card BTW!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

