RSS Feed

Season of Thanks Favors

My stamping space is all sorted out!  It was so nice to sit down again in an organized environment that is clear of all clutter.  Or I should say stamping clutter since I have a train track built around me.  It’s one of the problems of sharing my space with the toy room and home office, but at least I can stamp while the boys play and I know that they are safe and not getting into trouble. 

One of the Demo WICKED challenges were these tiny milk cartons.  If you are interested in trying these out for yourself, Rochelle, has a tutorial up on her blog

I used Kraft cardstock for my milk carton and I stamped it with the Baroque Motifs swirl in Close to Cocoa.  After I assembled the box using Sticky Strip I pinched the top together and used my Crop-a-dile to punch the holes to hold the 1/4″ Chocolate Chip grosgrain ribbon.  I made my banner using the sentiment from Harvest Home.  It was hard to isolate the sentiment from the other 2 on the block since they run together but with a little patience with my Versamarker I got it as neat as I could.  I then heat embossed with white embossing powder and my heat tool on Really Rust cardstock.  I added it with a glue dot to the container.  I then added 2 leaves from Autumn Harvest.  I stamped them on Whisper White with Basic Gray ink and colored them in with an AquaPainter and my Earth Elements Watercolor Wondercrayons.  I just love my WWC.  They are so easy to use the the color just flows across your image.   To add a little more visual interest I pulled apart fibers in the Natural Hemp Twine and stuck some behind the ribbon knot. 

I’m planning on making these as favors for my family for Thanksgiving.  They go together super quickly and you can easily add candy to the inside.

Last Thursday we took Evan in for some more blood work for food allergy testing.  All along, since he was about 3 weeks old they have said he is allergic to milk.  It seems like since he started on cow’s milk at a year that he started to get sick.  So I figured that cow’s milk would show positive on the food allergy test.  Nothing reacted, just like his environmental allergies.  We have now taken him off of his allergy medicines and are just keeping him on the acid reflux meds to see if all of this is a result of reflux.  It’s almost like we are back and square one with him.  He has shown some improvement with his cough.  It’s almost gone, but it’s like we are living in isolation because I can’t take him out where anyone is sick and I have to be very careful about bringing germs home to him.  I’m hoping that he just has a very immature immune system and grows out of all of this.  I get so nervous when he gets a cold because it can go from bad to worse in a few hours.  My goal this winter is to keep him out of the hospital. 

Well I stamped 10 birthday invitations for Evan’s 3rd birthday party and I have to get them into the mail.  Yesterday was very productive.  Today it’s cleaning and then stamping. 

Jenn

Stamps: Baroque Motifs, Harvest Home, Autumn Harvest
Paper: Kraft, Whisper White, Really Rust
Ink:Close to Cocoa, Basic Gray, Earth Elements WWC, Versamarker
Accessories:White ep, heat gun, natural hemp twine, chocolate chip 1/4″ grosgrain, crop-a-dile, mini glue dots
9 responses »

  1. Wow! I love this – I just might have to make some of these myself since I will be the one having Thanksgiving Dinner this year!

    Reply
  2. So darling Jenn! I love the leaves.

    Reply
  3. Jenn, I love this project. It is very elegant. I think I may just have to try it out. TFS

    Reply
  4. What a great container! I love the leaves and the shredded twine–perfect for Thanksgiving!

    Sorry about your son. I can only imagine how frustrated you must be. I hope the doctors figure out what’s wrong and he starts feeling better soon. (((HUGS)))

    Reply
  5. Love this autumn box. You did a great job!

    Reply
  6. Very cute!! It would make a great center piece too. Sorry ti hear about your son and hopefully you will get to the root of the problem soon.

    Reply
  7. This is really cute! Love how you decorated it. The shredded twine adds nice texture. Hope your son stays well and they find what the problem is SOON!

    Reply
  8. I don’t know if you have found out what your son is allergic too yet. But you might talk to the Doctor about the blood test for Celiac Disease. Lactose intorence and gerd can be symptoms of it. My son Ethan has it and your story sounds very familar to me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

