RSS Feed

Fun Winter Afternoon

 

Happy Veteran’s Day!  Colin wanted me to say thank you to all of the military families.  He says that he is proud that you are out there fighting for the USA and that he appreciates it.  They talked a lot about Veteran’s Day and why we celebrate it in school yesterday. 

I made this card using the sketch from 2Sketches4You.  I just got to play with this Winter Post stamp set for the first time yesterday.  I thought the sketch called for a nice scene to be set so I paired it up with Lovely as a Tree.  My pond is so glittery in real life as I used my Versamarker, Heat and Stick powder and Dazzling Diamonds to dress it up.  Glitter just does not photograph well.  I also figured out the issue with my camera settings.  Apparently someone broke one of my light bulbs in my set up and replaced it with a regular light bulb instead of a Natural Daylight one.  I have to go to the store to pick up a new one and hopefully my photos will be back to the standard I want them to be at. 

The base of the card is Kraft cardstock and is layered  with Real Red and Ski Slope designer series paper.  The image layer is Chocolate Chip and Whisper White.  I stamped the trees in Old Olive after I masked my main image that was stamped in Basic Gray ink.  The sky is sponged with Baja Breeze ink.  To dress it up I added my sentiment layer in the top right corner and the chocolate chip ribbon with the little Felt Flurries snowflake. 

Evan went in for some tests yesterday and they all were within normal range so we go in for the blood tests today.  I didn’t want to subject him to them if he didn’t have to be.  He’s been poked and pricked so many times in the last year that I feel bad for him.  He knows what they are going to do and his veins always roll which results in a lot of poking.  It’s not fun.  I hope they are all normal on this round too.  It’s probably another mystery virus of unknown origin.  They seem to be his favorite.  It drives me nuts because if we knew what was wrong we could treat it. 

I hope you all have a fabulous day!

Jenn

Stamps: Winter Post, Lovely as a Tree
Paper:Kraft, Real Red, Ski Slope dsp, Chocolate Chip, Whisper White
Ink:Basic Gray, Old Olive, Real Red, Baja Breeze, Close to Cocoa
Accessories:AquaPainter, Versamarker, Heat and Stick Powder, Dazzling Diamonds, heat gun, designer label punch, 1 3/8″ circle punch, mat pack, mini glue dots, felt flurries, dimensionals, chocolate chip 5/8″ grosgrain
21 responses »

  1. Gorgeous card.
    Poor Evan, I feel so bad for him. He’s so brave.

    Reply
  2. Wonderful card, I love the colors. Poor little guy, I hope everything works out just fine. 🙂 Hang in there.

    Reply
  3. Beautiful card! I will pray that they figure out what is going on for Evan.

    Reply
  4. Jenn I love the hot pink, pale blue and chocolate browns together – this is a gorgeous card. Thanks for playing
    🙂 Kazan

    Reply
  5. This is gorgeous. I love it! Awesome job!

    Reply
  6. Beautiful card! I love that image.

    Reply
  7. Beautiful card, LOVE that image!

    Reply
  8. What a beautiful card!

    Reply
  9. This is fabulous!! LOVE how you built a whole scene around the skating couple, it’s gorgeous!!

    Reply
  10. WOW what a beautiful card! Hope you little guy will be better soon.

    Reply
  11. Beautiful card – love the bling!

    Poor little Evan – give him a nice long hug for me. I’ll send up a prayer.

    Reply
  12. Your card is beautiful

    Reply
  13. Absolutely stunning!

    Reply
  14. Gorgeous, Jenn!! I don’t have this set but I am feeling very enabled!!!

    Reply
  15. that is so sweet! i love the couple skating and the little dec 25th embellie is just a perfect touch.
    kris

    Reply
  16. Gorgeous card you made!
    Martha

    Reply
  17. Beautiful!! Love your classic take on the sketch this week!!

    Katie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

