RSS Feed

Watercolor Thank You

 

Today the Ways to Use it Challenge focused on Watercolor Paper.  I absolutely love and adore Stampin’ Up!’s watercolor paper, so much so that often I hoard it and don’t share.  I have never found another comparable brand anywhere.  There is a technique I have been wanting to try that gives you a soft Monet type look, but I’ve never had a chance to try it out.  I started by misting my watercolor paper with water.  I then inked my stamp, misted that too and then stamped it onto my paper.  As you can see the outside edges of my flowers are fuzzy, but that is what i was going for.  After I stamped them and the image dried a bit I went back and added some shadows and the chocolate centers to each flower.  The sketch I used is from CPS and it is sketch 89.  To finish it off I added a nice big Tangerine Tango bow and a tag made with my new Curly Label Punch,  I wanted the tag to tie into the main image so I added one of the flowers to that as well. 

All of Evan’s tests came back negative, which means we are dealing with yet another viral infection of unknown origin.  That’s nothing new since everything that happens to him seems to have the same end result.  In a few months we will retest his immune system to see if it is improving.  I sure hope so because he is looking forward to going to preschool for a few days a week next year. 

Jenn

Stamps: Close as a Memory, Cute & Curly
Paper:Kiwi Kiss, Tangerine Tango, Chocolate Chip, Hawaii Papaya dsp, Watercolor paper, Whisper White
Ink: Tangerine Tango, Chocolate Chip, Old olive
Accessories:mister, AquaPainter, horizontal slot punch, 1/8″ hole punch, pretties kit, dimensionals, hemp twine, tangerine tango striped ribbon
Techniques:wet paper watercoloring
7 responses »

  1. Very pretty! I love the colors, paper & ribbon! The tag adds the perfect touch!

    Reply
  2. Wow, this card is very striking! Nice job!

    Reply
  3. Incredibly gorgeous!

    Reply
  4. This is gorgeous!! Love your stamps and coloring with that patterned paper and the Curvy Label punch tag looks so cute!

    Reply
  5. WOW! Love the vibrant colors!

    Reply
  6. Beautiful card! Plus, I’m so happy to hear the good news on Evan’s tests!

    Reply
  7. Oh Wow – that’s striking! I never would have thought of using that stamp set and DSP together but it’s beautiful (she says as she runs to her stamp room to case it!)
    Thanks for sharing!
    Carol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

