RSS Feed

Changing Butterflies

I saw Kristina’s Color Challenge #30 but I was stuck until I saw the incredible cards over on Angie’s Blog.  I had a few minutes this evening when the boys were playing Geo Trax nicely together and I was tired of everyone crashing into my train.  I just got Flight of the Butterfly this week!  Can you believe it.  I feel like one of the last people to own it. 

The base of the card is Old Olive and is layered with Sahara Sand and Certainly Celery.  The celery layer is stamped with matching ink as well as Whisper White craft ink.  I then pierced the top and bottom edges and scalloped the Sahara Sand layer.  I tied on a ribbon through a silver hodpodge hardware buckle, but it gets lost under the ribbon.  I used both vanilla taffeta ribbon and whisper white grosgrain which I pulled apart and tied into my knot.  I would have used white taffeta ribbon, but I forgot to order more.  I guess I’ll have to place another order next week.  LOL!  It’s not like I have to twist my arm to do that. 

The main image layer is popped up on dimensionals.  I added a 1″ circle as well as a Fresh Favorites button to add dimension.  I pulled apart my linen thread to match my ribbon. 

This is a big weekend for Evan!  He is going to be 3 on Tuesday and we are celebrating on Sunday!  I still can’t believe that 3 years have gone so quickly.  If I’m MIA you know where I’ll be – taking care of a 3 year old who has overdosed on sugary birthday cake and playing a million board games (can you guess what he’s in to these day?).

Jenn

Stamps: Fight of the Butterfly
Paper:Old olive, sahara sand, Certainly celery, whisper white
Ink: whisper white, certainly celery, old olive
Accessories:silver hph, vanilla taffeta ribbon, whisper white 1/4″ grosgrain ribbon, 1″ circle punch, button, linen thread, dimensionals, mini glue dot
9 responses »

  1. Jenn, this is so sweet and soft.
    Hope Evan has a glorious birthday!

    Reply
  2. Cute card! I love the butterfly. Have fun celebrating Evan’s birthday.

    Reply
  3. Very pretty! Happy Birthday Evan!

    Reply
  4. Love the card. The colors in this challenge were so pretty!

    Happy birthday to Evan!

    Reply
  5. Jenn this card is AMAZING! Thank you for sharing it!

    Reply
  6. nope, i just got it and i thought i was the last one to get it! mine isn’t even mounted yet:)!(not for long)
    i love this card! i really love the little half circle bit you did up top–great idea! i love the celery next to the old olive..such an awesome combination!! great job!! hope all is well!!

    Reply
  7. So pretty, so peaceful, so detailed. Just love those colours.
    Carol

    Reply
  8. Absolutely Beautiful- As usual!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

