RSS Feed

Enjoy

 
What a weekend!  We were off to a rocky start with Sophie getting hurt, but she is much better.  I think once the bandage was off and she had normal use of her paw she felt 100% better.  I baked a cake, cleaned the house, wrapped presents and we celebrated Evan’s 3rd birthday.  He will officially be 3 tomorrow on the 18th.  Since I had no time to stamp all weekend I felt rusty as I walked back into my room.  I can always count on a new sketch from 2S4Y every Monday so I headed off and got started on Laura’s Sketch #13.  I started with a Riding Hood Red cardstock base and stamped and sponged it in the same color.  I then used a 2 3/4″ square of Chocolate Chip cardstock and a 2 5/8″ square of old olive.  I paper pierced this layer using my mat pack.  To get the Alpine Originals around the card I punched a small slit in the fold using my horizontal slot punch.  I then layered on the paper pierced square. 

The snowflake is from the Holiday Collection.  I simply punched the chipboard shape out and then lightly sanded any nubs with a sanding block.  I coated it with whisper white craft ink and then doused it with heat and stick powder.  I melted this with my heat gun, poured on dazzling diamonds glitter and then reheated it.  I just love how sparkly glitter is when it is adhered using this method.  I then stamped the sentiment from the same collection in Baja Breeze on Whisper white and punched it out with my 1 3/8″ circle punch.  I added a silver cording bow and then attached the snowflake using dimensionals.

I’ve mentioned before that Colin is allergic to many store bought cakes and baked goods, so I’ve taken to making my own birthday cakes.  I want to take a cake decorating class when the boys are older.  Right now I just do it and hope it turns out okay.  Evan loves Thomas the Train and wanted a train cake.  We just got a Hobby Lobby in the past 2 weeks and I went to check out their cake aisle.  They had this Wilton puzzle cake that can make a train, dump truck and rocket ship.  I thought this was neat because I get 3 options from one package versus one option from a metal cake pan.  I thought it turned out cute.  For the first time ever I used the Wilton food coloring and it is so nice and vivid.  Everyone had stained lips, teeth and tongues for a while, but the kids loved the black wheels.

Here is the birthday boy and his brother enjoying cake.  Evan got all of the presents he asked for and has played with his new Geo Trax airport since it was set up.  Ask his Daddy and Uncle Matt how good the instructions were.  I slipped back upstairs and let them have all of the fun.  He also got a ton of board games.  He loves playing games and as the boys get older I’m looking forward to family game nights.  Some of the fun ones are the new Eric Carle based games that teach things like manners. 

I’m ready to get back into a normal routine.  Hopefully this cold that Evan came down with about an hour before his party will be short lived.  I hope we don’t end up back at the pediatrician again this week. 

I hope you all have a fantastic week of stamping!

Jenn

Stamps: Holiday Collection
Paper: Riding Hood Red, Chocolate Chip, Old Olive, Whisper White
Ink:Whisper White craft, riding hood red, baja breeze
Accessories:Holiday Collection chipboard, alpine originals ribbon, heat and stick powder, dazzling diamonds, dimensionals, heat gun, silver cording, tombow multi, 1 3/8″ circle punch, horizontal slot punch
27 responses »

  1. Lovely card and great job on the cake. It looks just wonderful!

    Reply
  2. ohh your card is really pretty! i love the snowflake with the circle in it! great job!
    kris

    Reply
  3. Oh my Jenn you had a busy weekend!! I adore this card, your work is sooo inspiring!
    Laura

    Reply
  4. This is beautiful! And you finished it so fast, I’m impressed!
    LOVE that cake BTW…too cute!

    Reply
  5. Great card and glad to hear the party went well. Tomorrow’s my birthday too! Wish I was 3!

    Reply
  6. Jenn, your card looks great, the cake yummy and fun and your boys are adorable!
    Hugs and smiles

    Reply
  7. Wow!!! What an awesome job on the birthday cake!!

    Reply
  8. Happy Birthday to Evan.

    Reply
  9. Looks like so much fun! You did a great job decorating…I gave up when my second cake fell apart. I think it has something to do with our altitude. Who knows, but your cards are stunning woman. I want so much to get back to creating. Soon, soon.
    Hugs,
    Misty

    Reply
  10. Sara Kobe - SCS = Inkymom

    Jenn, you are so talented! I can’t believe that cake!! I love the card (of course, I love all your creations) but the cake was fab-o!! I stick to making a cake with dirt – just crush the oreos and add a truck and wa-la you have a truck driving in the dirt! My boys are 6 (June) and 3 (February) so I feel like we have a lot in common…

    Thanks for sharing with us, I visit daily and love to see what you create!

    Hugs~Sara

    Reply
  11. Your card is beautiful! I just got that stamps set this weekend and am having fun with it. The train cake looks awesome!

    Reply
  12. Jenn, love your card.You did a great job with the sketch. Your cake looks great and your boys are adorable. Three is such a fun age.

    Reply
  13. Gorgoeus card!!! I love your cake, too!! Your boys seems to be enjoying it!!

    Reply
  14. That cake rocks! Your card is great but, I say again…THAT CAKE ROCKS!

    Reply
  15. CUTE card — love the snowflake!!

    ALS0 – the cake is adorable! Love it so much! 🙂

    Reply
  16. The birthday cake looks wonderful. I have three boys and I always make their cakes from scratch – it’s a blast and they really get a kick out of watching their cakes come together.

    Love your card. Thanks for explaining how you made the snowflake. I want to try that out ASAP.

    Reply
  17. Jenn, your card is beautiful! Cute cake too!
    Mrs Jx

    Reply
  18. Fabulous card! Great take on Laura’s sketch!!

    Reply
  19. Realy pretty card !!!

    Reply
  20. Your cake is the bomb! So talented!! I love your card, too!

    Reply
  21. Gorgeous Card, Jenn!!!

    Reply
  22. Love the card and all the sparkly glitter!! Wonderful job on the cake too!!

    Reply
  23. Beautiful card you made!
    Martha

    Reply
  24. How pretty! I love the paper peircing. Your cake looks wonderful and yummy, too!

    Reply
  25. No way you made that cake! Wow! I think you need to “give” the cake decorating class, not “take” it! Looks like they had a great time!

    Love the card too, so clean and striking!

    Reply
  26. I loe that snowflake, I really need to get some or get the cricut cart that has it on there.. I love it and I think that’s what my cards are missing.. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

