RSS Feed

Warm Thanksgiving Weekend Wishes

 

It seems like we were stuck in a deep freeze for a while and then suddenly it warmed up for the Thanksgiving weekend.  By warmed up I mean high 30’s.  It’s just warm enough to be comfortable outside with a winter coat on.  Yesterday before we headed out for our Thanksgiving dinner I got the Christmas lights up on the house.  I also got a tree up on the front porch, so today we hope to decorate it.  Now we just need to wish for a similar day sometime after Christmas to take everything back down. 

I haven’t had much of a chance to stamp in the last few days, but I did make this card for the color challenge on SCS.  The color combo was Going Gray, Really Rust and Very Vanilla.  It’s not something I would normally chose, but it came together well.  I started with a Going Gray base and then layered it with Autumn Vine dsp and a strip of Very Vanilla that was scalloped on each edge.  I tied on a Basic Gray ribbon and adhered this to the card before stamping my Warm Wishes sentiment from Hugs and Wishes.  The main image panel uses pumpkins and leaves from Autumn Harvest.  I just love watercoloring so I pulled out my classic re-inkers and an AquaPainter.  I masked the pumpkins to set a scene and then added a few more cut out leaves up on dimensionals. 

I hope you are having a fantastic day!  We are staying in.  I do not like waking up early and I like even less shopping in crowded stores.  So no Black Friday sales for us.  I may go to the local hardware store to look for a few things but that is about it. 

Remember that there are just a few days left in the Holiday Extravaganza sale!  You can order right online from my website.  The directions are on the home page on how to find the sales. 

Jenn

All supplies are Stampin’ Up! and can be purchased via my website at http://igotstamps.stampinup.net

Stamps: Autumn Harvest, Hugs & Wishes
Paper:Going Gray, Autumn Vine dsp, Very Vanilla, Really Rust,
Ink: Basic Gray, Pumpkin Pie, Really Rust, More Mustard, Ruby Red, Close to Cocoa, Chocolate Chip
Accessories:AquaPainter, Scallop Edge Punch, Basic Gray tafetta ribbon, dimensionals, mat pack
Techniques:watercoloring
9 responses »

  1. Gorgeous! Love the festive holiday colors and the image.

    Reply
  2. Just gorgeous! I love the color combo and dimension with the pumpkins and leaves!

    Enjoy your black Friday in the comfort of your own home. I’m joining you – not shopping for me today! Too crazy for my liking!

    Reply
  3. Congrats on our card that made it to Stamper’s Showcase! Love this one, too!

    Reply
  4. Yeah, I meant “your” card…I didn’t help you, so my typo of “our” card is just plain wrong!

    Reply
  5. Very pretty! Love the colors and how you cut out the extra leaves and layered them on top! Lovely!

    Reply
  6. Wow, I so want to eat this card…for some reason it reminds me of a piece of candy…eye candy. I love how those colors work together. Nice, JENN!

    Reply
  7. Wonderful! The gray looks better with this color than I would have ever thought!

    Reply
  8. Very pretty card, the colours are so crisp and your corner piercing is So Neat!!

    Reply
  9. This is very pretty! You have really great artwork!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

