RSS Feed

To You From Me

 

Today has already been a comedy of errors so I was pleasantly surprised to have this card come together so quickly when I sat down at my stamping table.  We try to wait until the last minute before we walk out of the house to the bus stop.  It got cold again and we were supposed to get 3 – 5 inches of snow yesterday and over night.  The snow never really materialized but the rain froze overnight.  I got the boys bundled up, it was 7:49 and we ran out of the door.  Before I realized my mistake I was halfway down the driveway, and I had only taken 1 step outside of the garage.  Apparently the driveway was a sheet of ice and Colin, Evan and I went cascading down it.  The parents sitting in their nice warm cars could see us, as our driveway faces the bus stop.  There wasn’t enough time to get the boys buckled into their carseats and drive the 500 feet to the bus stop so we skated there in our sneakers.  I am just thankful I didn’t fall down in front of everyone.  That would have been a sight.  Well now that you are done laughing at my fun and spontaneous ice skating escapade I know you are hear to find out the Blog Candy winner and about my card.

Every month there are new Demo challenges.  This month Vera is the hostess and she posted a sketch and a few other challenges for us.  I started out doing her sketch the exact same way she had it posted, but flipped it at the last minute.  I guess I’m stuck in ornament mode because I changed my main focal image to look like one.  I used Lovely as a Tree and Winter Post for the main image and Best Yet for the sentiment.  The ovals are cut with my coluzzle, but I like my layers to be about 1/4″ of a mat so I had cut the largest Old Olive layer down.  The card is fairly simple.  I added some dazzling diamonds and crystal effects to make an icy pond – one that is more suitable for ice skating on than a driveway if I may say so myself.  All of the supplies are listed in my recipe, but if you have questions, as always, feel free to ask. 

The winner of my blog candy, as chosen by Random.org is:

Here are your random numbers:
40

Katydidnt please e-mail me with your snail mail address and I will get the goodies out to you as soon as they are all here. 

Jenn

All Supplies are Stampin’ Up! and can be ordered at anytime on my website: http://igotstamps.stampinup.net

Stamps: Winter Post, Best Yet, Lovely as a Tree
Paper: Riding Hood Red, Ski Slope dsp, Whisper White, Old olive, Chocolate Chip
Ink: Old Olive, Chocolate Chip, Always Artichoke, Baja Breeze, Pacific Point, Whisper White craft
Accessories: AquaPainter, Blender Pen, Dazzling Diamonds, mat pack, crystal effects, coluzzle, 1 3/8″ circle punch, scallop punch, alpine originals ribbon, glue dot
Techniques: watercoloring
7 responses »

  1. Jenn, I’ll admit I did laugh, but only AFTER you said you were ok. Thankfully it wasn’t too embarrassing.
    Your card is terrific. Love it!

    Reply
  2. Beautiful card! I’m glad you are ok after your fall this morning and hope the boys are as well. That black ice can be pretty scary! I probably would have broken something!

    Congrats go to Katy for winning the blog candy.

    Reply
  3. What a lovely card! Love how it looks like an ornament!

    Reply
  4. Good thing you guys didn’t get hurt!! Sorry but I did have a chuckle. Sounds like something that would happen to me. Oh BTW lovely card!

    Reply
  5. Great card. We didn’t get much snow either, but Peoria did? They had quite a few traffic problems this a.m. due to ice on the roads and bridges.

    I’m glad no one got hurt and that you were able to enjoy some skating fun.

    Reply
  6. Beautiful Jenn. I love the sketch. I only laughed a little bit at the thought of you planting on the ice…LOL! OK, a lot! Narf.

    Reply
  7. NO FREAKIN’ WAY!!!! I never, ever, ever win anything. How cool is this. Thanks Jenn, you rock! I’ll send you an email with my address. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

