RSS Feed

Cleaning and Stamping

 

If you are like most stampers you often debate which you should do, but I found out that you can do both at the same time!  The Try a New Technique Challenge on SCS yesterday taught me how to do that!  The speckled background was made using Simple Green.  I didn’t have that on hand so I used Green Clean instead.  They both have green in their names so I thought it should work.  I want you to know that this card is far from perfect, but I spent so much time creating it I couldn’t pass up sharing it.  It’s too easy to toss things into the failure pile, but then you would think I’m perfect all of the time.  LOL!  Since I had to spray a cleaner I sprayed it right over my bathroom sink.  That means I stamped and cleaned at the same time.  It doesn’t matter that I walked away and then started stamping again right away does it?

I think the coconut oil messed with the way the versamark and white embossing powder stuck to the paper.  In some spots it stuck where I didn’t have any versamark and where there was versamark it didn’t want to stick at all in some places.  Oh, well, at least I gave it a chance.  Just don’t look too closely at the card and hopefully you won’t notice. 

My goal was to create a winter forest scene with big white fluffy snowflakes falling to the ground.  That I think I did accomplish.   Don’t feel bad to give me your honest opinions.  I hope you have a fantastic Tuesday! 

Jenn

Stamps: Winter Post, Lovely as a Tree
Paper:Baja Breeze, Always Artichoke, Whisper White, Glossy White
Ink:Whisper White craft, Always Artichoke, Chocolate Chip, Baja Breeze, Pacific Point, Not Quite Navy
Accessories:Brayer, Heat gun, white ep, sponge, very vanilla 5/8″ grosgrain
Techniques: Speckled Background
10 responses »

  1. Jenn, this card is gorgeous! I notice NOTHING wrong with it. You’ve done a fantastic job!

    Reply
  2. Jenn, I think it looks great, so surreal. The reindeer look amazing! Soemtimes I make myself clean for 15 minutes than stamp for 15, the project may not flow perfectly but I have multi-tasked. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Beautiful card! Great job with creating a wintery night.

    Reply
  4. I love it! The big snowflakes are awesome!

    And such wonderful multitasking! Cleaning your sink while you stamp – genius!

    Reply
  5. My first thought was, “Wow! That took a lot of time!” I think it looks great.

    Reply
  6. This card is beautiful!!!! And who can argue with stampin & cleaning your way?? LOL

    Reply
  7. I think this card is gorgeous! When it first popped up on the screen and said WOW! out loud! Great job! And thanks for sharing it with us!

    Reply
  8. Sara SCS: Inkymom

    Wow, if my “rejects” looked like this I would have a huge pile of cards!! This is beautiful. Every year at holiday time I wish I had this stamp set…

    Reply
  9. My honest opinion hmmm … I love it!! I’m going to have to check out that technique. The details on this really blew me away!

    Reply
  10. How dare you! If word gets out that we can clean and stamp at the same time, the gig will be up!! Are you crazy?! lol! And no, it didn’t work, because I still think you’re perfect all the time! Your card is gorgeous, but there’s no way I’m trying this technique…not even going to start going down that road! hee! hee!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

