RSS Feed

The Magic of Christmas – Now In Color

 

Yesterday was not meant to be a good day from the start.  I started out by making the cookie dough from the Day 2 of the Food Network 12 Days of Cookies.  It all went well and I got it into the fridge to set up.  I thought it would be a good thing to sit down and catch  up on my Google Reader with a nice hot cup of coffee.  I booted up the computer and as I was making sure my Wi-Fi was up and running I heard a dripping sound in the kitchen.  The only problem was that the sink or dishwasher weren’t on, so I had no idea what would make that sound.  I walked in to find 8 cups of steaming hot coffee all over my counters, dripping onto the floor and into the Lazy Susan that makes up my corner cabinet.  We have a Hamilton Beach Brewstation and apparently a part failed and instead of dispensing the coffee into a cup like it is supposed to it decided to release everything.  Since I had to clean the counters I decided to re-organize the pantry.  I have no idea how it becomes such a disorganized mess when I’m a person who thrives on organization.  I think it may have to do with the 3 other people in my house that go into it as well to take things out and put things back, but not necessarily in the right space. 

The pantry is clean, the counters are clean and the cookie dough is setting up, so it’s a good time to sit down and finally catch up like I had planned to do earlier in the day.  Colin was going to be home in an  hour so that would have been enough time.  Instead the first thing I opened, and beware I didn’t even have to click a link, was a malicious spyware along with a virus.  Roger came home and was able to catch whatever it was before it did too much damage.  We only lost 4 files and they were older files that we don’t use anymore so it was no  big loss.  I’ve heard from a few people that they can’t even get into their computers or get them to boot up.  We were lucky that it was caught right away. 

The remainder of the day was spent baking cookies.  Colin and Evan wanted to bake Gingerbread cookies (Day 3 of the 12 Days of Cookies) with Roger so we made them last night.  My day was good in terms of baking, but stamping and computer time was non-existent. 

I told you I had made the Magic of Christmas card from the other day in color.  Here is that card.  I used the Speckled background technique that I had learned on Monday.  It is such a wonderful technique.  The colors and everything are listed in my supplies.  If you have questions feel free to ask.  Today Colin has his eye Dr. appointment and we get to see how his Amblyopia is progressing.  I’m not sure he’ll be able to stop patching yet.  He still favors his left eye, but it is getting better and we are almost down to a year to beat it.  They say at 7 his eyes will “flip a switch” and decide to be used equally.  He’ll be 6 in April.  Evan had his eyes checked a few months ago and got a good report.  This past pediatrician appointment they said his one eye was drifting so he may have to be seen again and there might be patches and glasses in his future.  I sure hope not. 

Have a fantastic Friday!  I’m going to stamp before we head out.  And I am going to get those ornaments posted over the next week.  It was just not in the cards for this week.

Jenn

All supplies are Stampin’ Up! and can be purchased on my website: http://igotstamps.stampinup.net

Stamps: Winter Post, Lovely as a Tree, Sweet Serendipity
Paper:Baja Breeze, Always Artichoke, Whisper White, Glossy White
Ink:Baja Breeze, Pacific Point, Not Quite Navy, Handsome Hunter, Chocolate Chip, Real Red
Accessories:brayer, sponge, Kraft taffeta ribbon, word window punch, tombow multi adhesive, cosmo glitter
Techniques: speckled background
2 responses »

  1. Awesome card. Sounds like you had a pretty eventful day…don’t you hate when they start that way?!

    Reply
  2. Hi Jenn!
    I’m happy to discover your blog.
    And I enjoy your cards stamped with Winter Post because that set is my Christmas favorite this year.

    If you want, you can look mine

    http://alapause.blogspot.com/search/label/Z%20Courrier%20d%27Hiver

    Reply

Leave a Reply

