RSS Feed

Kusudama Ornament

 

Last week I came across an ornament in the SCS gallery by Stampinsylvia and it was so gorgeous I knew I wanted to try it out.  Luckily she gave the link to where she found the directions.  You can find them on Folding Treesand they are called Kusudama, which is a Japanese ball made out of identical origami shapes that have been glued together.  To make this you need sixty 3 X 3 squares of paper.  Each flower takes 5 squares and there are a total of 12 flowers glued together.  I’m not going to kid you and say you can make these quickly.  The folding was actually relaxing for me.  The more I did the faster I got.  It did take me a lot of the day but I had errands to run and worked on it for brief periods of time. 

Yesterday was not as eventful as Thursday was although the new coffee pot Roger bought leaked all over the counter.  He took it back and I bought a Keurig at Kohl’s.  I tested it out and the coffee is fantastic!  Colin had his eye appointment and we are going to continue to patch 3 hours a day.  Evan will have his eyes checked again when Colin goes back in 3 months.  I can’t imagine having 2 kids with patches, but if we have to do it we will. 

Today is a busy day.  I have to get ready for my last class of the year for my hostess club and have a few appreciation gifts to finish up.  I hope you all have a great weekend. 

Jenn 

Supplies: Frosty days dsp, silver cording, pretties kit, Tombow Multi adhesive

22 responses »

  1. Awesome. This is so cool.

    Reply
  2. I’ve never seen an ornament like this before, neat.

    Reply
  3. WOW! That is amazing. I am glad things are calming down. (as much as they can this time of the year) 🙂

    Reply
  4. Oh…my…word. Excuse me, Jenn. I have to go find out how to do this…;)

    Brandi

    Reply
  5. Wow, that is gorgeous! I’m going to admire yours and pass on the folding myself!

    Reply
  6. That is the most amazing ornament. Looks like it is VERY time consuming. Maybe will have time to try one AFTER Christmas LOL. I just got a Keurig coffee system too and we are just wild about it.

    Reply
  7. I am definitely going to have to try this. Yours is amazing! TFS!!

    Reply
  8. WOW! This is one gorgeous creation! You must have the patience of a saint to tackle this!

    Reply
  9. that is sooo cool!! I love it! 🙂

    Reply
  10. This is so cool looking! I thought I might try one until I read that it starts with 60 squares. I’ll just admire your creation. (and your patience;-)

    Reply
  11. Whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, WHOA! This is fantastic. Lady, where do find the time? You’re awesome! I love this ornament and I’M not going to kid you and say I’ll be making one. I can barely comb my hair anymore. Hah! Wonderful Jenn! TFS! Hope all goes well with the next eye appt.

    Reply
  12. Oh My Gosh!!! This is ABSOLUTELY stunning!!! I can’t imagine making more than one of these. It’s a true work of heart!!!

    Reply
  13. Absolutely gorgeous!! I’m going to make one right now!! TFS! =)

    Reply
  14. Oh my! Truly amazing ornament! Great job! I have been on the edge of buying a Keurig… I’m guessing it’ll happen very soon. Love to hear all the testimonials! 🙂

    Reply
  15. Wow, Jenn! This is beautiful!

    Reply
  16. This is so gorgeous! Thanks for sharing this with us. I may have to go look this up! 🙂

    Reply
  17. WOW! That’s prbably one of the coolest things I’ve seen lately! Thanks for all the info.

    Reply
  18. Oh, My Goodness this is the coolest thing ever!! I hope you don’t mind but I am going to have to case this. Man I wish it wasn’t 9:30 at night I would be all over this.

    TFS!!

    Reply
  19. Wow! That is stunning! I can tell it requires more patience than I have! lol! Love it!

    Reply
  20. WOW! You have amazing patience! This is truely beautiful – a gorgeous paper crafting keepsake! TFS!
    Kay
    Oh, I just LOVE your blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

