RSS Feed

Merry Christmas Star-burst

Last year I saw many of these Starbursts floating around the internet and I had put it down on my long To Do list. The holidays passed and I never crossed it off of my list. When it was the Try a New Technique yesterday on SCS I knew I had to try it out. If you are interested in finding out how to make the Starburst you can find the challenge here.

Before I had started the card I checked out Laura’s Sketch 15 on 2Sketches4You and I thought it would work perfectly for this card. I started with a Baja Breeze base and cut the Chocolate Chip layer 1/8″ smaller. I knew I’d need as much space to fit the starburst in and I didn’t want to waste too much of it. I then layered this with 2 patterns from the Ski Slope designer series paper package and tied a Real Red 5/8″ grosgrain bow around it. I then added my medallion and the finishing details.

Here is a close up of the star-burst.  It is made up of the border of the tag punches when you punch out the smallest tag and then punch the larger one around it on a piece of paper.  It is then adhered to vellum paper.  As you can see I used 2 layers for the star-burst and then topped it with 2 Felt Flurries held together with a brad.  There is a dimensional attaching the 2 layers of the star together and then attached to the card with another dimensional. 

Today Colin has his Holiday concert so I don’t know if I’ll get a lot of stamping done.  I did start on a upcoming swap, but since it’s a sneak peek I can’t post it for all to see yet.  Hopefully I’ll have a chance to get something together to post tomorrow.  The holiday season is getting busier so if I’m missing a day or two it’s not because I don’t want to stamp but because my time is being spent with my family. 

Happy Tuesday!

Jenn

25 responses »

  1. Gorgeous! I will have to try the starburst, it’s lovely!

    Reply
  2. Wooozers Jenn! Your work is always impeccable!
    I hope you submit your work because it is stunning!
    Thanks for playing at 2S4Y!
    Hugs
    Laura

    Reply
  3. your card is so cool! I had to check out the sunburst instructions and now it is on my to-do list!

    Reply
  4. Abosolutly beautiful!!

    Reply
  5. WOW…………THIS IS STUNNING!!!! I really love the layers of the snowflakes – FABULOUS!! Hugs, t

    Reply
  6. Gorgeous!!! I love the big snowflake!!!

    Reply
  7. Gorgeous!! Your layered star-burst/snowflake is fabulous! And the colors you used are just beautiful together! Wonderful take on the sketch!

    Reply
  8. GORGEOUS! Reminds me of a warm winter sweater!

    Reply
  9. This is an excellent card, the snowflake layers are amazing! love it….Hugs…SK 🙂

    Reply
  10. Wow!!! This is beautiful!!!

    Reply
  11. AMAZING! Great colours! LOVE it!

    Reply
  12. Gorgeous, absolutely gorgeous!!!

    Reply
  13. Those starbursts are time-consuming but so gorgeous! I love how well the felt flurries snowflake lines up with it!

    Reply
  14. Fabulous card, love the clean lines.
    Great take on Laura’s 2s4y sketch this week!

    Reply
  15. That’s so so pretty!

    Reply
  16. Well that’s just gorgeous! And it works so well with the felt flurry snowflakes! Excellent work! =)

    Reply
  17. This is just amazing! I love everything about it!

    Reply
  18. Beautiful card, wonderful snowflake.

    Reply
  19. Gorgeous, just gorgeous!!

    Reply
  20. It’s beautiful, Jenn! I love the button on the ribbon – such a nice added touch!

    Reply
  21. Congrats on the 2s4y fab5!! Way to go!!

    Reply
  22. Congrats, being one of the fab 5 !!!
    Your card is GORGEOUS

    Reply
  23. Congrats on making the Fab5!!! Happy Holidays to you!

    Reply
  24. What a GORGEOUS card!! Fantastic work 🙂

    Katie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

