RSS Feed

Dreaming of Spring

 What a day yesterday was. We woke up to -3 degrees and decided it wasn’t worth going out for any reason at all. I made pancakes for breakfast and we all settled down to work on addressing Christmas cards and I started on the Featured Stamper’s Challenge. I was 3/4 of the way done with my card when the power went out. Everything is covered in ice and the winds picked up over night. Icy power lines and high winds are not a good combination. At first the sun was shining in and it was still fairly warm in the house. A few hours later the temperature kept dropping and we sat on the couch huddled together to keep warm. We were beginning to decide what our options were when it all finally came back on. You don’t realize how much you depend on electricity until you are without it. The coldest day of the year so far is not a good day to be without heat.

When the power came back on and we all warmed back up I finished the card I had started on earlier in the day. I had chosen this card to CASE from Paula’s gallery.  I kept the layout and changed the colors, stamp sets and a few other elements.  I must say I love this card. 

I used quite a few preview items on this one.  The designer series paper is the new Raspberry Tart paper that will be available on January 19th.  The Dream a Little stamp set is going to be a new Level III hostess stamp set.  Aren’t they just gorgeous? 

I started with a Kiwi Kiss cardstock base and then layered it with Riding Hood Red, Whisper White and then the Raspberry Tart dsp.  I added a scalloped strip of Whisper White and paper pierced the scallops to add dimension.  I then added the ribbon and the main image layer on which I stamped the leaf pattern.  The flower is stamped several times, cut out and layered to add dimension.  I added the dimensional humming bird and then the sentiment tag.  This card took quite a lot of time to make, but I think the results are well worth it.  It probably would have been completed faster had we not had the long outage of power. 

Only a few days left until Christmas! 

Jenn

Stamps: Dream a Little
Paper:Kiwi Kiss, Riding Hood Red, Whiper White, Raspberry Tart dsp, Whisper White
Ink: Pink pirouette, Riding Hood Red, Kiwi Kiss, Sahara Sand
Accessories:scallop edge punch, mat pack, dimensionals, pink pirouette striped ribbon, silver cording, AquaPainter, Word Window punch
14 responses »

  1. Your card is precious, I love it!
    Wow, that’s cold…too cold to be without electric. Stay warm!!

    Reply
  2. Your card is absolutely gorgeous…love all the pink & green! Stay Warm!

    Reply
  3. WOW! Jen, this is a beauty! What a way to showcase those new SU products! Just gorgeous!

    (hearing about your cold weather makes me appreciate living in the Arizona desert! … but you’ll hear me whining June-September!)

    Reply
  4. Another beauty with these papers and stamsp Jenn! Sorry that you all had to go through that weather and have no power. We’ve been dealing with nearly -40 with the windchill and it’s not nice. Luckily we aren’t have tons of snow and no ice. Stay safe and warm!
    Happy Holidays!

    Reply
  5. Beautiful card! I love the raspberry paper.

    Reply
  6. Oh, you make me want that set! LOL So glad your power came back on! Have a warm, Merry Christmas!

    Reply
  7. Oh, Jenn, this is just gorgeous! You are killing me with your new stuff…
    Luckily the power doesn’t go out very often here in Minnesota, but we also have a gas furnace so we have heat even when the power goes out.

    Reply
  8. Beautiful card Jenn! love the colors and that layout…awesome work gf!!

    Reply
  9. Gorgeous! You combined this set with the papers perfectly. Glad to hear you were not without power for too long.

    Reply
  10. Beautiful… I love the raspberry tart paper so gorgeous! your layout is so beautiful, I love the card you made!

    Reply
  11. jen…this is a real knock-out! love the way you’ve colored the hummingbird…beautifully done!

    Reply
  12. Wow! You’ve been so busy posting!! I am sorry that I’m behind on comments.

    This is just gorgeous!!

    Reply
  13. WOW!! Just beautiful … everything works so well together!

    Reply
  14. Gorgeous card Jenn. Hope you are well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

