RSS Feed

Bright Birthday Celebrations

Yesterday was a fun day, we woke up to a light snowfall that quickly covered everything. Luckily it wasn’t too cold, so we played outside quite a bit. I did shovel the driveway a few times, but the amount of snow wasn’t quite enough for a snowman. I’m sure my neighbors had fun watching me shovel the sidewalk and pile all the snow into one location so Colin and Evan could at least attempt to build one. It turned into more of a hill, so they tried to slide down it on their bellies like penguins on ice.

After my first stint outside, Evan and I headed in from taking Colin to the bus stop and I looked at the color challenge. I actually cringed when I saw the colors, but then I reminded myself that if I only did the challenges that appealed to me that it wasn’t really a challenge. A challenge is to take us out of our comfort zones. This card really did that, but I am happy I did it. I actually have an idea for another card using these colors. Imagine that!

My theory when working with colors that might not be of my particular taste, is to keep it simple and work with a sketch you know works. So you get to see this sketch from Tayloronce again in a short period of time.   I started with my main image panel and used the flowers from Petal Pizzazz.  I stamped the largest flower in Brilliant Blue and layered it with 2 smaller flowers (the center is cut out of one) that were stamped repeatedly in Pumpkin Pie.  One leaf is stamped onto the cardstock, the other cut out.  I then added 2 smaller Pumpkin Pie flowers with Garden Green stems to match the leaves.  The rest of the card is fairly simple and I added the recipe below.  If you have questions about it let me know. 

So what does today bring?  It’s another school day, and a morning of stamping.  This week is just flying by.  I wish I could say the same of the last two.  Colin starts Basketball on Friday and has his first game only a week from this Saturday.  He got his sports goggles a few days ago, so I’ll have to get a photo of him wearing them.  I didn’t go with when he picked them out so they are 100% Colin. 

Have a great Wednesday!

Jenn

Stamps:Petal Pizzazz, Upsy Daisy
Paper:Garden Green, Whisper White, Summer Picnic dsp, Pumpkin Pie
Ink: Brilliant Blue, Garden Green, Pumpkin Pie
Accessories:scallop border punch, mat pack, dimensionals
7 responses »

  1. Oh my gravy, this is so pretty. The colors are so vibrant, love the images with the sketch.

    Reply
  2. so simple yet so pretty love it
    Hugs
    Norine

    Reply
  3. Awesome card! Definitely a challenge, but you nailed it!

    Reply
  4. You did really well with the colors Jenn! I’ve yet to do that challenge….email me about the supply order.
    Hugs,

    Reply
  5. Jenn, the colors really work well together. I LIKE IT! TFS

    Reply
  6. Jenn, you rocked this CC! It freaked me out too…lol…but your clean and crisp card is perfect!

    Reply
  7. Another wonderful card with this new set! I’m going to be sorry that I didn’t order it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

