RSS Feed

Sweet and Simple

 

Wouldn’t it be nice if all things in life were sweet and simple?  Especially home improvement projects that weren’t planned?  I mentioned that our dishwasher died about a week ago.  We had been washing dishes by hand all week and thought (key word thought) about holding off on the purchase of a new one.  Sears was having an pretty good appliance sale so Roger went and bought a new dishwasher yesterday after we spent many nights researching them over the course of the week.  Sears delivered it this morning, even before our scheduled time.  Roger said it was going to be a short and easy task to install it, but with a small leak, two trips to the hardware store and attaching it into the cabinets, it took most of the day.  I on the other hand had child duty, and both of my boys love their daddy time on the weekend, so it wasn’t with pleasure that they played with me.  They kept wanting to sneak off into the kitchen to see what kind of trouble they could stir up. 

It wasn’t until late afternoon that I got to sit down and stamp.  I had picked a card earlier in the morning for the Featured Stamper challenge so I just went with that.  Here is the card I CASED.  I changed the colors, stamp set, ribbon placement and added water coloring.  I kept the layout and just adjusted the placement of the paper piercing.  It’s really simple, so I won’t go into a lot of detail.  I started by stamping and water coloring in the floral image from Echoes of Kindness.  I then colored over it with a Versamarker and heat embossed with crystal clear embossing powder.  I thought this would be faster than masking and then sponging.  It certainly was!  I then masked the rectangle and sponged on Baja Breeze ink.  I thought about adding a sentiment, but there are times when I just need a card and I don’t have the right occasion, so I decided against it.  So what do you think?  Personally I really like it. 

Happy Monday!

Jenn

Stamps: Echoes of Kindness
Paper: Kraft, Whisper White
Ink:Basic Gray, Pink Pirouette, Kiwi Kiss, Baja Breeze
Accessories:AquaPainter, Versamarker, clear ep, heat gun, sponge, mat pack, pretty in pink grosgrain ribbon
Techniques:watercoloring, heat embossing
5 responses »

  1. oh, love it jenn!! it is so soft…is spring in the air!? hope your new dishwasher is awesome!

    Reply
  2. love how simple it is yet so very pretty love the spring look it has
    hugs
    Norine

    Reply
  3. Good grief, this is so pretty!

    Reply
  4. Very pretty Jenn….the colors are great together!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

