RSS Feed

Honey of a Birthday

I started on this card yesterday and was not happy with the bottom left corner. I thought that there was too much blank space. I tried adding a sentiment, buttons and other various embellishments. Nothing worked right so I walked away and left it until this morning. A fresh outlook worked. I decided to add a paper pierced flight path and was finally satisfied with it.

While I like this card I am not totally in love with it and debated about posting it. But I remembered that I promised to share all of my successes and failures and while it might not necessarily be my favorite there still might be parts that helps inspire someone else.

When I first started on this card I knew I wanted to use Just Buzzin’ By because it hasn’t seen much ink.  I also knew I wanted to use my neglected Sweet Always designer series paper.  I’m using up the older stuff before I get new paper.  I did order one new package of paper but it won’t be here until next week.  I’m sticking with my pledge to use what I have before I stock up and try to buy the whole entire catalog at once. 

I hope you have a fantastic Thursday, although I don’t know where the week went.  Maybe it’s my lack of sleep.  I think Evan is going through a growth spurt and he has been very restless and night and comes and climbs into our bed.  This is not something he does on a normal basis, so I know something is up.  He’s been tossing and turning and keeping me up.  He has suddenly grown too tall for his 3T pants so hopefully this is a short phase and will be over soon. 

Jenn

All supplies are Stampin’ Up! and can be purchased via my website: http://igotstamps.stampinup.net

Stamps: Just Buzzin By

Paper: Pink Pirouette, Chocolate Chip, Sweet Always dsp, Whisper White
Ink: Basic Gray, Pumpkin Pie, Regal Rose, Summer Sun, Chocolate Chip, Blush Blossom
Accessories: AquaPainter, dimensionals, vintage brads, 3/16″ corner rounder, buttons sizzlets die, neutrals buttons (retired), linen thread, 5 petal flower punch, mat pack
Techniques: watercoloring
8 responses »

  1. So pretty! I love the papers and that flower, ingenious!

    Reply
  2. It’s cute! I kind of like the orangey gold colour with the pink – that’s what makes it work. It’s made me more of a fan of that stampset!

    Reply
  3. Jenn, please don’t NOT post something you make! This gave me a great idea – I would’ve NEVER thought of using the Buttons Sizzlets for a flower!!! Thank you!

    Susan, aka Soozie4Him

    Reply
  4. The card is beautiful! I am so glad that you decided to share with us!

    Reply
  5. I love the button flower! Adorable!

    Reply
  6. This is super sweet, I love it and am glad you posted it!

    Reply
  7. Love this card. very cute

    Reply
  8. It’s a winner in my book!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

