RSS Feed

Chocolate Wishes

I know, I’m really late with my posting schedule today. You’ll see why at the end of this post. I took on a rather large project yesterday. This morning I sat down to make one of these Ghirardelli chocolate boxes. Beate has a tutorial up on SCS this week and you can find it here.

I used Chocolate Chip card stock for the base along with Bella Rose designer series paper. I decorated it with the square scallop punch in Kiwi Kiss and the dandelion stamp from A Happy Heart stamped in Riding Hood Red ink on Whisper White card stock. I added a Riding Hood Red scalloped strip to the top and a clear Rhinestone brad to my main image. This was so quick and easy to make. I’m going to have to make few more up to give people for Valentine’s Day this year.

Yesterday afternoon and evening I turned this . . .

into this!

This is bread I grew up eating. My grandmother has always made it for us and now that she is nearing 90, my Mom bakes it for us. She grew up with her grandmother baking it and I figured it’s time I attempt it on my own.

I hope it gets easier the more I bake it because it literally took me from 1 in the afternoon until about 7:30 last night to get the dough made, punched down a few times during the rising process and then finally baked.

But I now have 8 loaves and it freezes perfectly.

Jenn

11 responses »

  1. I can smell that bread from here! YUMMY. I still haven’t made any on my own yet. I must get to that.

    Reply
  2. The box is gorgeous, but I can smell that bread from here. I really need to make some as well. It is such an intoxiating smell and really nostalgic for me. YUM!

    Reply
  3. That looks delicious. I would love your recipe if you would like to share. Love the box you made as well. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  4. This bread looks so good. My 2 year old daughter saw it and said “I want to go to her house”. I guess she is trying to invite herself to eat your bread. LOL

    Reply
  5. Carolyn Anderson

    Hi Jenn…the bread really does look great! I emailed a couple days ago, but not sure if it went through to you…I was wondering if you would mind just giving me the measurements for the lid you made on the Valentine box…I figured everything else out…just really bad with math! I really would appreciate it!
    Thanks

    Reply
  6. The bread looks delicious! I love baked bread. If you would be willing to share the recipe, I would love a copy of it. I love your box also, as well as all the great ideas you post. Thank you for sharing. Linda 🙂

    Reply
  7. Very cool chocolate box!!! And that bread looks YUMMY! Wish I was closer so I could come over and sample it! hee! hee!

    Reply
  8. Ok, the little box is just adorable. But I want the recipe for the bread…so are you sharing that also?

    Lucinda ;o)

    Reply
  9. mmmmmm… the bread is yumm.

    Reply
  10. My grandmother loved teaching anyone who asked how to bake her bread, She would really be happy to know that so many people wanted to learn about her recipe.

    Reply
  11. the bread looks delicious would love the reciepe if you would like to share it…i love your projects

    Reply

Leave a Reply

