RSS Feed

Thoughts of You

Yesterday I tried the Technique Challenge on SCS, and I know that it’s something I’ll want to try again with a few changes. I made a recessed window to showcase my stamped images, but I made the window recess into the main card. I think next time I will make it a separate layer and have it popped up from the main body of the card.  If you are interested in trying this technique you can find the directions here. 

The card itself is quite simple.  I have a Riding Hood Red base and added Bella Rose dsp on top of that.  I then scored my window and cut and “X” into it corner to corner.  I added the Whisper White to the back of the window, stamped my sentiment and added the two hearts.  They are from the Sale-a-Bration stamp set Polka Dot punches.  I stamped them on Riding Hood Red card stock and on Pink Pirouette card stock in Whisper White craft ink and in Riding Hood Red ink.  The Whisper White was then embossed with white embossing powder.  I had to add a Chocolate Chip frame to the top of the layer because I messed up my dsp when I was cutting the X.  I added a simple bow and was satisfied with the results.   

I have ribbon coming today!  My big order is on it’s way in with a new Specialty paper and some new stamp sets.  I’m hoping that UPS gets here early enough in the day to play.  I know a few people have asked about additional ribbon clubs, but at this point in time they are full and I’m not planning for another one right now.  If you ordered ribbon or hardware it will be on it’s way soon, so watch for your shipping details in the next day or so.  I also ordered the Bigz Serif Essentials Alphabet yesterday.  I sold my Cricut, that I used maybe 3 times in a year, and have been waiting for SAB to order it.  I hope it ships quickly because I can’t wait to play with it.  I’m seeing lots of possibilities with that one and am excited to get it. 

Have a fantastic day!

Jenn

All supplies are Stampin’ Up! and can be purchased Online on my website: http://igotstamps.stampinup.net.  Remember all Online orders through March 30th qualify for a FREE catalog and orders of $50 or more receive additional Sale-a-Bration products.

Stamps: Polka Dot Punches, Goody-Goody Gumdrops

Paper:Riding Hood Red, Bella Rose dsp, Whisper White, Chocolate Chip, Whisper White
Ink: Whisper White, Riding Hood Red, Chocolate Chip
Accessories:Full Heart Punch, white ep, heat tool, bone folder, Riding Hood Red striped ribbon
Techniques: recessed window
12 responses »

  1. Oh my word, this is gorgeous!

    Reply
  2. This is gorgeous and what a cool technique! I must try it, TFS!

    Reply
  3. Like a framed piece of art! It looks fabulous Jenn!

    Reply
  4. This is so lovely, Jenn, the pinks and reds are so perfect together!

    Reply
  5. What a beautiful card Jenn. I think the frame really makes it pop!

    Reply
  6. I love this Jenn! It’s so simple but still a wow.

    Reply
  7. Cute cute cute card! Love the 2 colors of hearts and the ribbon!

    Reply
  8. I love this card, Jenn! Did you just free-hand the frame or do you have a special secret??

    Reply
  9. Wonderful card!! It looks like a frame piece of art!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

