RSS Feed

He who has . . .

the most tools wins. My husband would probably agree. Did you notice it doesn’t say that he who knows how to use the most tools wins.  I had a chance to play along with Laura’s sketch from 2 Sketches 4 You and I thought I’d make a masculine card.  I don’t make many of those.  I started by searching Google images for the best colors for the tools.  Most of the tape measures were yellow and I found a hammer that had a black and red handle and a screwdriver with a red handle as well.  I pulled out Riding Hood Red and Going gray to color my images and then was stumped as to what colors to use with them.  I thought Baja Breeze and Night of Navy would go well and they did.

I went by the rule, when in doubt use as many layers as possible. LOL! I certainly used a lot of layers on this card, at least 8 from a quick count.  To make the main image I stamped the hammer in the center, masked off the handle and then stamped the wrench and screwdriver off to the sides.  I used my Stamp-a-ma-jig to make sure things would line up the way I wanted them too.  I then stamped the ruler on a scrap piece of card stock and cut it out and attached it with dimensionals.  I did not separate the sentiments from the images on this set.  There is enough room between them to ink each part separately if you want to do so.  The sentiment was inked with markers and each part was lined up with the Stamp-a-ma-jig so that it would fit in the small oval punch. 

I really love this card.  It is so different from my normal style, but it was fun to make. We got to spend more time outside yesterday! The boys and I practiced basketball, walked around the block, rode bikes up and down the driveway. We’ve been cooped up for so long it’s nice to be above freezing and not have tons of snow on the ground. Hopefully I’ll get time to stamp again today.

Jenn

 

All supplies are Stampin’ Up! and can be purchased on my Demonstrator Website.

Stamps: Totally Tool

Paper:Night of Navy, Riding Hood Red, Going Gray, Baja Breeze, Whisper White
Ink: Basic Gray, Going Gray, Riding Hood Red, Summer Sun
Accessories:AquaPainter, dimensionals, large and small oval punches, vintage brads, riding hood red striped ribbon
Techniques:watercoloring
19 responses »

  1. This set is on my wish list! Great job! Love it!

    Reply
  2. LOL…this is GREAT Jenn! I want this set too! hahaha….I google when I’m not sure how something is coloured too…usually animals…lol

    This turned out wonderfully! Love all the layers and your shadowing is awesome!

    Reply
  3. Totally cute, love all the layers and that sentiment cracks me up…so true for men.

    Reply
  4. great card…i never make enough guy cards either…but this set is on my list so I can make more!! 🙂 love the colors you used! 🙂

    Reply
  5. Love this card! So beautiful!

    Reply
  6. Darling, those stamps are awesome! Thanks for playing!
    Laura

    Reply
  7. This card is soooo cool! Would make a great fathers day card ♥♥

    Reply
  8. Awesome card! LOL, and you’re totally right about what the sentiment doesn’t say! 🙂

    Reply
  9. fabulous card, Jenn! Love the stamp set and yes, I totally noticed that it mentions nothing of knowledge! Love your colour combo too!

    Reply
  10. such a fabulous card! love it!

    Reply
  11. This is awesome…I just love the sentiment! Great job with Laura’s sketch!

    ~Lea

    Reply
  12. Great card! Love the tools!

    Reply
  13. That stamp set rocks!!! I love how you layered the papers and then masked the tools. A terrific image! And that ribbon is yummy! I am need of some I think. May have to check out getting. ♥

    Reply
  14. Oooh, super cuteness! Great job with the sketch challenge! You’re pushing me to get this set, aren’t you, missy?! Well, it’s not like I need a lot of pushing! hee! hee!

    Reply
  15. What a great layout!This card looks very good for a guy and I just LOVE that ribbon- Hope we get it in OZ soon

    Reply
  16. Wow, great coloring job!!! I can’t color! I love that set, thinking of getting it so that I can make hubby all sorts of manly card 🙂

    Reply
  17. LOL.. that is too funny! Love it 🙂

    Reply
  18. What a great card!! I always struggle with masculine cards and you did such a wonderful job with this one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

