RSS Feed

Happy Easter Basket

Yesterday the Try a New Technique Challenge was to stamp with rubber bands. You wrapped them around a wood or acrylic block and then inked them with Versamark before stamping them onto your project.  I couldn’t figure out how I would incorporate the technique into a card, but I did think it would make for some great texture on this basket.  The template is a Timeless Template by Lauren Meader and you can find them at Papertrey Ink

To make the basket I simply printed the template onto my Bashful Blue card stock and then stamped the rubber band wrapped block in versamark onto it.  I rounded the top edges of the woven pieces with my 3/16″ corner rounder and then sponged them with Bashful Blue ink.  I attached the handle with Jumbo eyelets using my Crop-a-dile. 

To make the main image panel I stamped the bird 4 times, once on the main image layer, twice on scrap Whisper White card stock and once on So Saffron card stock.  I then paper pieced the bird and shell.  I just love this little chick from A Good Egg. To make the scallop rectangle, I used several punched scallop squares and simply overlapped them.  I finished it off with the sentiment and ribbon.  I thought about filling the basket with candy and then realized the kids at it all so I didn’t get to finish it off completely.  Colin loves this basket and has already claimed it as his own.  I now have to make one for Evan. 

Yesterday I got a lot accomplished around the house.  I was hoping I’d get spring weather sooner if my house was spring cleaned.  I’m now crossing my fingers that it will work.  Today can hopefully get more stamping done.  Have a great Tuesday!

Jenn

All supplies are Stampin’ Up! and can be purchased online at http://igotstamps.stampiup.netStamps: A Good Egg
Paper: Bashful Blue, Certainly Celery, Whisper White, So Saffron
Ink: Basic Gray, Bashful Blue, Apricot Appeal, Not Quite Navy, Rose Red
Accessories: corner rounder, sponge, rubber bands, versamark, scallop square punch, word window punch, so saffron ribbon (sab), sticky strip
Techniques: rubber band stamping
7 responses »

  1. Awesome basket. The pastels work so wonderfully here, I am so intimidated by them.

    Reply
  2. Super cute! Love the ‘thatching’!

    Reply
  3. Awesome Jenn! That technique is perfect for your weaved basket!!! CUTE!

    Reply
  4. Oh, this is SOOOO cute! Love what you did with the technique… I ended up scrapping my card because I just couldn’t get it to look the way I wanted it to. 🙂

    Reply
  5. Wowzers!! This is AMAZING!! Love it! Sounds like you got a lot done yesterday, everything except a nap…don’t be a slacker and let me down now! hee! hee!

    Reply
  6. I love your basket. I will have to make one soon!

    Reply
  7. This is sooo cute I just love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

