RSS Feed

Mini Shopping Tote Tutorial

Yesterday we went out with my family to celebrate March birthdays and an Anniversary. My Sister-in-Law and I both have birthday’s this month and it was my brother and Sister-in-Law’s 5th wedding anniversary.  When I got to my parent’s house my Mom tells me that the gift card she picked up from Corner Bakery had the cutest little shopping tote to deliver it in.  After my brother and Sister-in-Law opened their present I stole the tote.  LOL!  My brother really told me I could have it.

This morning I deconstructed it and came up with dimensions for it.  I improvised a bit to make it a tad bigger just to get the dimensions on even numbers.  Do you want the directions?

1. Cut a piece of Designer Series Paper to 8 X 4 1/4

2. Along the 8 inch side, score at .5, 1, 3.75, 4.25, 4.75 and 7.5

3. Along the 4 1/4 inch side score at 3 and 3.5

4. Using Stick Strip tape the .5 inch piece up to the 7.5″ score mark

5. Place a small box (I used a Sweetheart box) inside of the bag.  Close the bottom like you would wrap a present

6. Cut 2 piece of designer series paper to .75 X 4.25

7.  Fold both end into the center so you have a tube that is .25 X 4.25

8. Fold your handle at 1 5/8 and 2 3/4 inches.  Attach to the inside of the bag with sticky strip

9. Decorate as desired

The finished size is 2 3/4 X 3 1/2 and is 1″ wide.

Inside of my bag I can fit a Stampin’ Up! button container and it will easily hold a gift card as well.

I’d love to see your little Mini Shopping Totes so post here if you get a chance to make one.

Have a fun Sunday!  The boys are out playing in the snow and I hope it is the last snow I see for a long time – at least until next Winter.

Jenn

All supplies are Stampin’ Up! and can be purchased on my Demonstrator Website: http://igotstamps.stampinup.net

Stamps: Wagon Full of Fun, Great Friend
Paper: Delicate Dots dsp, Certainly Celery, Whisper White, So Saffron
Ink: Basic Gray, Close to Cocoa, Basful Blue, Summer Sun, Chocolate Chip
Accessories: scallop square punch, small oval punch, white organza ribbon, sticky strip, dimensionals
Techniques: mini shopping tote
14 responses

  1. Thanks so much for sharing the measurements for this tote. It’s cute! 🙂

  2. What a wonderful little bag. Thank you for taking the time to figure out what the dimensions are abd sharing with the rest of us. I’m going to have to try this when I get home from work.

  3. I’m a sucker for the purse, bag, tote look! Thanks for adding one more to my “must dos”!!

  4. Very cute! TFS- this is perfect as I have just recently decided to give out the stack-n-store containers with an assortment of embellishments in them as hostess gift. I figure it’s a good way to get the different embellishments into their hands,hopefully they’ll fall in love with them and order them all- lol!

  5. OOOOO So cute jenn!! Might have to make one of these over the next week … in my spare time … now where did i put that spare time??? 😀 Have a great day!

  6. Very Cute – You are so clever!

  7. Oh, my dear Jenn! You have NO idea how timely this tutorial is coming to me! Thank you SO much!!!

    Brandi

  8. TOO cute! You KNOW I’m gonna copy this one. Thank you so much for sharing with us – I can design cards all day long, but when it comes to SHAPED things, well…. 😀
    Have a great day! Thanks again!

  9. So cute, I can hardly wait to give it a try!

  10. Absolutely Adorable! Way to take something apart and figure it out for the rest of us! I think I’m definately going to have to use this one for staff appreciation week in May….how long do ya think it will take me to do 46 o these?!? Once again I am truly inspired by your creativity!

  11. It ain’t stealin’ when it’s your birthday! (Hope it is/was a happy one, btw!) Too cute, Jenn, thanks for taking the time to share it.

  12. Wow, those are some wonderful circles. That’s my favorite set. How do you do it all Jenn? Really, two boys, a house to run and you just keep going. I pray that I can at least accomplish one or two cards a week. You’re such an inspiraton.
    Misty

  13. Fun little tote for gift giving. Thanks for sharing the dimensions with us. jmniffer

  14. LOL love your story! i am glad to know I’m not the only one who takes things apart so I can remake them!!

