RSS Feed

Celebrate

Posted on

Yesterday was a good stamping day! I got my order from Friday unpacked and got a lot of the stamps inked up right away. I used 2 challenges for this card. One was the Late Night Stampers color challenge. If you’d like to play along, join in here.  The second challenge was the Clean and Simple  Challenge on SCS which was to use distressing on your card.  I did a bunch of distressing, some more subtle than others.  The sketch is from Clean and Simple Stamping and is Fall to Layout #35.

This morning is starting a little slower and some of it has to do with the huge black spider we found in the basement near my stamping area.  I had to determine the best way to exterminate it.  It was literally the size of a quarter.  Evan told me he saw something black and was crying about it.  I thought it was  broken crayon or a piece of paper.  But when I picked up some toys it was staring right at me.  Now it’s gone and I can hopefully not keep looking over my shoulder and I can get rid of the creepy crawly feeling in my bones.  We got 3 1/2 inches of snow yesterday so I think it messed with the bugs that were starting to come back out when we did have spring like weather.  I like bugs and can watch them when they are safely outside and not in my house. 

Before I get into the details about making this card remember that I have a Corduroy Button Share going on.  For the price of 1 package of buttons you can sample every color Stampin’ Up! has to offer.  The information is in this post.  Group 1 is almost full.

To start this card I used a Baja Breeze card stock base that is 4 1/4 X 11 and is scored at 5 1/2.  I cut a piece of Parisian Breeze Specialty Paper 4 1/4 X 3 1/2 and used a sanding block along the edges.  It lets a little bit of white show through and adds a touch of distressing.  I then took  a scrap piece of Sahara Sand card stock that was 4 1/4″ wide and punched it with the eyelet border punch and then attached it to the Parisian Breeze layer.  I wrapped a length of Very Vanilla card stock around the paper and tied it to the side with natural hemp twine before attaching this to the card.  My Chocolate Chip layer measures 2 1/2 X 3 3/4 and is distressed with the cutters tool kit.  The Very Vanilla layer is 2 1/4 X 3 1/2.  I stamped the image from Soft Summer in Chocolate Chip craft ink and embossed with clear embossing powder.  I then watercolored in the flowers with Baja Breeze ink.  I used a versamarker and drew over the leaves, stems and flowers and then heat embossed that with crystal clear embossing powder as well.  I took a sponge dauber with Sahara Sand ink and went around the edge of the image adding a little glow to it.  I distressed the edges the same way as the chocolate chip layer, and I allowed the top corner to be bent down a bit.  I attached the two main image layers and added it to the card with dimensionals.  The tag is from the Matchbox die and is cut out of Baja Breeze card stock before being stamped with the Matchbox message of celebrate.  I used my Stamp-a-ma-jig for exact placement.  The inside is decorated with Very Vanilla card stock and a strip of Parisian Breeze speciality paper that is also punched with the eyelet border punch.  I stamped Happy Anniversary inside but Happy Birthday could easily be substituted.

I hope you all have a fantastic Tuesday!  I think the remainder of the snow will be gone after today, but maybe our April snowman will still be here. 

Jenn

All supplies are Stampin’ Up! and can be ordered online 24/7 at http://igotstamps.stampinup.net

Stamps: Summer Soft, Matchbox Messages, Hugs and Wishes
Paper:Baja Breeze, Sahara Sand, Parisian Breeze dsp, Chocolate Chip, Very Vanilla
Ink: Chocolate Chip (classic and craft)
Accessories:heat tool, clear ep, AquaPainter, Versamarker, Sponge Dauber, cutters tool kit, very vanilla 5/8″ grosgrain, natural hemp twine, dimensionals, eyelet border punch
Techniques: distressing
5 responses »

  1. Jen, That’s a beautiful card. I really like it. Good Job.

    Reply
  2. Love the colors on this one, so pretty!

    Reply
  3. Super card Jenn – gorgeous color combo!

    Reply
  4. Spiders are yuck, but your card is wonderful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

