RSS Feed

Flowers for Mom

Posted on

Before I tell you about this amazing card, I want to remind you of my Corduroy Button Share. I have several groups filling up. The information on that is located here.  Payment is due by April 15th to participate in the 1st round.  I am not sure if I will have more than 1 round so if you are interested make sure you sign up.  I am also offering Blog Candy here.  You have until April 20th to enter on this post.

I love Techniques.  It’s fun to learn a new way to use a product that you have on hand, or even a new way of folding a card.  This one is a Flower Pot pocket card.  It was the Technique Challenge this past Monday on SCS.  You can find the thread here as well as the link to the tutorial with measurements in the 1st post. 

I’m not going to give all of the measurements today because I followed the tutorial exactly as written and they are all there for you.  I will tell you how I got the effect I wanted with the pot and flowers though.  I started with a Creamy Caramel base and after it was cut, scored and punched I sponged it with Creamy Caramel ink and then stamped the image from Organic Outlines on the base of it.  I didn’t put on the Designer Series Paper as the tutorial called for.  I wanted to create a terra cotta pot with a design.  I tied on the Baja Breeze striped ribbon and held it in place with a glue dot then added my tag with the sentiment from Great Friend stamped in Not Quite Navy ink and punched with the small oval punch.

After the outside was decorated  turned to the inside where the flowers are attached.  Again the measurments are with the tutorial.  I stamped the sentiment from Eight Greet Greeting and colored in the flowers with markers.  I pulled out my Big Shot and the Flower Layers with Leaf and die cut Sweet Always designer series paper and Old Olive leaves.  I played with my layerig and placement until I was satisfied with the color scheme and placement.  I added the butterfly from great Friend in Not Quite Navy as a finishing touch. 

I think this would make a fabulous Mother’s Day card or the inside sentiment can be changed out to create a Get Well or Congratulations card. 

I know you are probably wondering how my Artisan Award entries are coming along.  I’m 50% done.  I have my 3D projects and 3 cards complete.  Today I hope to finish the last two cards and this weekend my scrapbook pages will be put together.  I’d love to know if any of you are entering as well.  This will be my 2nd year.  Last year all of my projects made the Stamper’s Showcase or were found on convention display boards so that was exiting. 

Happy Thursday!

Jenn

All supplies are Stampin’ Up! and can be purchased 24/7 on my Demonstrator Website: http://igotstamps.stampinup.net

Stamps: Great Friend, Organic Outlines, Eight Great Greetings
Paper: Creamy Caramel, Whisper White, Old Olive, Sweet Always dsp
Ink: Creamy Caramel, Not Quite Navy
Accessories: Big Shot, Flower layers with Leaf, small oval punch, glue dots, Baja Breeze striped ribbon, natural hemp twine, tombow multi adhesive, dimensional, eyelet border punch, Stamp-a-ma-jig
Techniques: Flower Pot Card
19 responses »

  1. This is INCREDIBLE, Jenn!!!!! I think you are a future Artisan award winner for sure!!

    Reply
  2. What a great card! I love your take on the terra cotta pot and the layered flowers. Very nice. I won’t have any chance since you’re entering in the Artisan Award contest, but I am 2 cards and 2 3D projects away from entering. It’ll be my first time and it was one of my goals this first year of my demoship to enter in some contests. I am encouraged, though…tomorrow my 3 free stamp sets come from winning the April Occasions Mini Stampin’ Success magazine contest! My project will be in the June SS issue! Gotta love free stamps!

    Reply
  3. Jenn
    This is amazing!!!! I just love it and so wish we could have done flowers as our challenge!! Oh well we will still have fun with something else!!
    I so need to try this SCS challenge! I love yours!

    Reply
  4. This is wonderful, Jenn! Love the colours!

    Reply
  5. I love your artwork! I also love the ideas you share on our Latenightstamper group!
    You are very talented Jenn! Keep up the good work.
    May God bless you for all you do for others, Sherrill Graff istmpnv@aol.com

    Reply
  6. That is fantastic! I’m teaching my daughter’s class to make a mini mother’s day album later this month – I wonder if we’d have time and wherewithall to do this flower pot card?!

    Reply
  7. Awesome card!
    Congrats for entering. I have thought about it many times, but haven’t done so. Maybe I will this year.
    Are you attending Convention? This will be my 3rd and I can hardly wait!

    Reply
  8. love the finishing touch with the butterfly – magnificent

    Reply
  9. So happy to see that YOU are part of our latenightstamper blog tour!
    We have the best Stampin Up artists in the world. Thanks for being one of them. and Thank you for the inspiration! Sherrill Graff istmpnv@aol.com

    Reply
  10. Jenn, this is the most darling idea for a card, and you definatly worked it!

    Reply
  11. Such a beautiful card….I love that you inspire me so! Good luck on your artisan projects! Happy Easter!

    Reply
  12. Wow! Absolutely stunning….love it!!!!

    Reply
  13. What an absolutely gorgeous card Jenn!

    Reply
  14. jenn! wow. i love this! what a great piece of art! now that i have received some of my stamp stuff, i just might have to give this a try! oh, i love it all!! great job!!

    Reply
  15. Wowzers! This is extreme cuteness!! Love how that piece pulls out and your flowers are awesome!

    Reply
  16. FANTASTIC yours is the best of all.great flowers and colors and very elegant pot.you always inspire all that view your site.THANKS SO MUCH FOR SHARING.

    Reply
  17. Wow what a beautiful card!!!

    Reply
  18. Pingback: An Invitation « My Creative Days

  19. I finally got around to making one of these today! Thanks for the inspiration!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

