RSS Feed

Soft Watercolor Wash

I think spring may be here. The weather is warming up and the trees are starting to pop.  Yesterday I took the boys to the library and played outside.  It was a good day beside the headache that snuck up on me.  I’m not one to get many, but it was so bad that my scalp hurt.  I decided to not even stamp.  Today is a new day and hopefully the headache will stay away.

For this card I combined the Technique Challenge on Stampin’ Addicts with the Sketch Challenge from Late Night Stampers.  Can you believe I’ve never tried the watercolor wash technique before?  I don’t know why because it was so easy.  I sprayed water onto my Stampin’ Up! watercolor paper and then used my AquaPainter to brush Baja Breeze ink over the entire layer.  When it was dry I sponged the edges with the same ink.  I then stamped the image from Soft Summer in Chocolate Chip craft ink and heat embossed it with crystal clear embossing powder.  I wanted nice bold colors so I used re-inkers to color in the image even though it does have the 2 step stamp to fill it in.  I used Old Olive, Riding Hood Red, Summer Sun and Close to Cocoa.  I put crystal effects into the center of my flowers.  The main image layer is mounted on Close to Cocoa card stock that has been punched with the eyelet border punch and then had a Pink Pirouette striped ribbon attached to it.  I mounted it to the card with dimensionals.  To make the base I used Close to Cocoa card stock.  I layered Riding Hood Red cardstock with Candy Lane designer series paper.  I paper pierced around the edge before attaching it to the base of the card.  To dress it up I added a button with Linen Thread and stamped the sentiment right on the card with Chocolate Chip ink using the One of  Kind stamp set.

I hope you all have a fantastic Thursday!  I’m starting to get ready for Colin’s birthday party with his friends this weekend.  I need to get a start on the treat bags today.  I’m using Simple Birthday Thanks for that to match his invitations.

Jenn

All supplies are Stampin’ Up! and can be purchased on my Demonstrator website: http://igotstamps.stampinup.net

Stamps: Soft Summer, One of a Kind
Inks:Baja Breeze, Chocolate Chip craft, Riding Hood Red, Close to Cocoa, Summer Sun, Old Olive
Papers:Close to Cocoa, Riding Hood Red, Candy Lane dsp, Watercolor paper
Accessories: AquaPainter, mister, eyelet border punch, clear ep, heat tool, dimensionals, Fresh favorites button, mini glue dot, linen thread, mat pack
Techniques: watercolor wash
5 responses

  1. Wowy, this is sooo pretty. I love the layout and those pretty colors. Have fun at the birthday party!

  2. Oh this is so pretty!!! Your really making me want to get that set. Ty for sharing

  3. This is lovely! I don’t think I’ve tried this technique before either, thanks for explaining it! Hope you had a good, headache-free day!

  4. Beautiful card. I love the colors you used for this of course pink and brown go so great together!! thanks for sharing its gorgeous.

  5. Beautiful water coloring!

