RSS Feed

Occasions Mini Blog Tour


ETA: The blog tour links are now broken. I hope you enjoyed the April 27th tour!

Are you ready to go on a tour of the Occasions Mini catalog? I sure am! I am in love with all of the stamp sets, accessories and Big Shot dies it has to offer. If you arrived here from Tiffany’s Blog then you are on the right path.  I’m the 4th stop on the tour and there are a total of 19 stops.  I’m excited to show you the Great Friend stamp set.  If you are a regular reader of my blog, you know that I love butterflies, so of course this set was right up my alley.  When I sat down to create my card I wanted to showcase the stamp set and get another challenge done at the same time.  This card is a CASE of Lauri Seago and I found it on Sherrill’s blog.  The template from the dress is from Papercrafts magazine and is found online here.

To make this card I printed out the template on computer paper and then used Dotto to attach it to a 4 1/4 X 11 piece of Parisian Breeze specialty paper that was scored at 5 1/2 inches.  I simply cut out the dress and then I cut out the matching apron pattern from Vellum Paper.  I used the eyelet border punch on the bottom edge and then used the leaf image from a Great Friend and stamped it in White Stazon.  When the stazon was dry the butterfly was stamped in Not Quite Navy and the flight path was added with the help of the Priceless classy brass template and my paper piercer.  I wanted the vine to show through the butterfly so I wiped the Not Quite Navy ink off with a tissue.  I attached the vellum paper to the card with SNAIL adhesive and then tied on the Baja Breeze satin ribbon from the Valet Ribbon Originals card.  I added the “for you” sentiment in Chocolate Chip ink on a small oval Whisper White piece of card stock.  I tied it on with Linen thread and also used the same piece to tie on the Latte button.  To dress up the collar, hem and sleeves I used the scallop edge punch on a scrap piece of Baja Breeze card stock and then ran it through the crimper.  I then simply attached it to the card.  Crimping it allows you to bend it to make the neckline smoother. 

Did you know that if you spent $40 on Occasions Mini merchandise you can choose a FREE item from the “Under $10” page of the catalog?.  This offer is good through April 30th, so place your Online Order for any of the items you see on the blog tour and take advantage of this offer. 

Are you ready to see more?  The next stop on the tour is on Renee Winch’s blog.  She is a brand new blogger, Stampin’ Up! Demonstrator, cake decorator and florist.  She’ll be showing you the Summer Love Rub Ons from the Occasions Mini catalog.  Grab a cup of coffee, sit back and enjoy the tour.   Make sure you check out all of the blogs today because tomorrow the links will be gone!

Here are a few more of my favorite cards made with the Great Friend stamp set.

88 responses »

  1. Ooops, I scrolled down too far to leave a comment! I meant to put it here!

    All of your cards are beautiful Jenn, but that dress is simply amazing!!!

    Reply
  2. Marisol Gutierrez

    I LOVE butterflies…How cute is that little dress. Great JOB!

    Reply
  3. I follow your blog anyway, but this was an added treat today. Your cards are always terrific! I love this set too, but the little dress card is really adorable. Thanks for sharing the template location as well as you wonderful talents! Tour is leaving…got to go!

    Reply
  4. Love the dress card. Thanks for sharing. Love all the cards. Makes me look at this set a little different. Mary

    Reply
  5. Jenn, such beautiful work. Great job, enjoy the tour!

    Reply
  6. Oops…posted on the wrong date. Love your samples and the dress especially!

    Reply
  7. Love the dress card! What cute colors and design. All of your cards are beautiful. Glad I stopped by today!

    Reply
  8. Jenn: These are all just incredible. You are so talented. Thanks for participating in the tour. I appreciate your support.

    Reply
  9. They are all very pretty!!! Great job!!! 🙂

    Reply
  10. I love this tour. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  11. Jenn, these are just fabulous cards! You really rocked out that butterfly stamp, didn’t you? How could you NOT, though, RIGHT? It IS just absolutely gorgeous!

    BEAUTIFUL artwork! Hoosier Hugs, Nicole (Stop #15)

    Reply
  12. This is my favorite set from the mini. I love what you’ve done! Thank you for the inspiration!

    Reply
  13. Bethany Keeney

    I am now subscribed to your blog! Thanks for the tour. This is a great set!

    Reply
  14. Your dress card is sooooooooo cute!

    Reply
  15. I love how you did the dress! A great idea to use the crimper. Blessings,
    Audrey

    Reply
  16. Chris Piotrowski

    Awesome cards!! I really like the dress card. Thanks for sharing where you got the pattern too.

    Reply
  17. great cards- now it makes me wish I bought that set, the dress with apron rocks!

    Reply
  18. wonderful cards and a fun blog hop ! TFS!

    Reply
  19. You did an amazing job with this stamp set but then again all your work is amazing!!! You are such an inspiration!!! Thanks for all you do!!
    Tiffany, stop #3

    Reply
  20. Loved your cards! I can’t wait to get this set and CASE your cards.

    Reply
  21. It is very obvious why you are on a design team — awesome creativity and I loved every single project. Jaw dropping cards, in my opinion!

    Reply
  22. I love your blog and the cards are beautiful..great job!

    Reply
  23. Wonderful site. Thanks for the inspiration.

    Reply
  24. Wendy Hawkinson

    I loved your blog! You do beautiful work. Thank you for participating in the blog tour! 🙂

    Reply
  25. Jenn,
    This are all so pretty, you’ve been busy!! That dress is the cutest thing ever. Thanks so much for taking part in the blog tour!
    Diane

    Reply
  26. Love all your cards, but the dress is my fav. I have seen this idea several times, and I HAVE to try it. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  27. it’s easy to see how much you enjoy this set! you do such beautiful work with it! love the addition of the vellum to the dress card! gorgeous! 🙂

    Reply
  28. Jamie Mitchell

    I love thiese cards. Now I know I have to have the scallop punch.

    Reply
  29. The dress is so very sweet, and the special touches of the collars, sleeves and hem are perfect! Thanks for participating in the blog tour, I hadn’t seen your blog before and so now I’m going to spend some time looking at your previous posts (ahem, while I’m waiting for reports to print at work…ahem).

    Reply
  30. That dress card is A-FLIPPIN’-DORABLE!!! Love your other cards with that stamp set, too! Thanks for the inspiration!

    Reply
  31. You have gone over the top with your “Great Friend” cards. I am like you I love anything that has butterflies on it. I am signing up for your blog.
    Thanks for sharing,
    Peggy

    Reply
  32. These are all wonderful. I LOVE this set! Thanks for all the great ideas to do with it.

    Reply
  33. Love all of your cards! Every single one of them! In case you’re taking a survey, my fave’s are the 1st and 2nd ones. Love the dress card too though — very cute! TFS!

    Reply
  34. Nice job! All great cards – and adorable dress!

    Reply
  35. Awesome samples – you did well!

    Of course, the dress card is my fave.

    TFS

    Brenda Cook
    brenda@cardscraps.com

    Reply
  36. Adorable! You always have such great cards to show us!

    Reply
  37. I love love love this set. Just ordered it and can’t wait to create with it. Thanks for some wonderful inspiration to get me started.

    Reply
  38. Thanks for the beautiful samples! I just received this set and am itching to create some cards for myself. Thanks for joining in the blog tour fun, the ideas are fantastic.

    Reply
  39. wonderful samples…love checking out your blog

    Reply
  40. I loved the dress card and all the butterflies. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Reply
  41. Great Job! Love your samples. Don’t put me in the drawing as I am part of this Tour #1. Woo-Hoo! Love it!

    Reply
  42. Jenn,
    I love the dress card! Wonderful job with photos, layout, color everything!

    Reply
  43. Hi Jenn-

    Thanks so much for sharing your beautiful creations with us. The little dress is adorable, but I think my favorite card is the last one with the Parisian Breeze paper. It’s so soft looking. I love the layout, etc. Your blog is one of my favorites. I subscribe by feed and always look forward to seeing what you’ll post next:)

    I hope you have a wonderful day!

    Julie Arvin
    thearvins@verizon.net

    Reply
  44. Jenn,
    Lovely cards, thank you for sharing your work. This is a wonderful way to spend a Monday morning.

    Reply
  45. TFS Jenn…love the lil dress cute idea! Great cards too!

    Reply
  46. beautiful projects!!!

    cheers ~ carol.

    Reply
  47. I am loving this butterfly…great variety of uses, nice work.

    Reply
  48. Great cards-LOVE that set!!

    Reply
  49. I just love your work! I love the colors you chose to put together, layouts, everything! You are so talented! Thank you for your time and effort in doing this blog tour for all of us to see your ideas and use them.
    Tammy

    Reply
  50. love your cards- lots of variety- thanks

    Reply
  51. Wow, Jenn, all your artwork is beautiful and that dress is amazing! Over the top! Thanks for sharing your creativity with us!

    Reply
  52. Sheree' Harris

    Ok I am following this awesome Mini Blog Tour today and here I stop at your page. WOW I say to myself that picture looks VERY FAMILIAR!!!! Did you go to Wheaton Central – Wheaton Warrenville South High School??????

    Anyways, great cards. Thank you for sharing.

    Sheree’ (OBrill) Harris

    Reply
  53. Shelly Schmidt

    I love your samples- and I cannot help by note the above post- I live in Wheaton too! I did not grow up here, and I am probably a tad bit your elder I think……. if you are from here. I think I recognize your pic from SCS though . TFS

    Reply
  54. Beautiful cards. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  55. Jenn -your samples are amazing. Love them all. TFS

    Reply
  56. Wow, that dress is beautiful! All those butterfly cards are amazing!! This is my fave stamp set from the mini, but I haven’t gotten it yet 😦
    Thanks for sharing!!

    Reply
  57. I love butterflies, too! All of your ideas are so pretty! I love the samples. The dress is so unique! Thank you for sharing your work. This tour has been great.

    Reply
  58. FABULOUS! ALL of these cards are just glorious!! Like you, I am so in love with this set.

    Reply
  59. I love love love your cards, tehya re sooooo adoreable!!! I am happy I took the tour, even though I am a demo!

    Reply
  60. Beautiful cards. That dress is just gorgeous! This is one of my favorite sets from the mini too!

    Reply
  61. I LOVE the dress, it is just darling. All of your cards are great though!
    Sarah
    sarah@stetlerarts.com

    Reply
  62. This little dress is PRECIOUS!! I love all the things that you come up with!! Thanks for sharing yet another great card with all of us.

    Reply
  63. Great cards, but the dress is adorable. I love it

    Reply
  64. Vicki Woebbecke

    This blog hop is so much fun, hey I’m getting excercise too. haha NOT
    Love all the cards.

    Reply
  65. OMG!!! I love this little dress! I’m gonna have to case this! Plus the butterfly!!! What a bonus! Thanks for sharing your creations!

    Reply
  66. Kimberly Johnson

    My favs that I have seen. Oh, and I’m now a subscriber! :o) Thank you!!!

    Reply
  67. i love the card using the raspberry tart dsp…gleaning another idea for using this paper. love the colors

    Reply
  68. Wow, I love these cards. I put you on my favorites so I can come back often. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  69. Karen Sullivan

    Beautiful cards … love them all but the dress is tops! It is adorable. Thank you for sharing your wonderful talent.

    Reply
  70. Love the cards especially the first. That is so cute. Hope my girlfriend has a little girl and I will be so coping this.

    Catherine
    irishcpa@sbcglobal.net

    Reply
  71. Jenn, You’ve outdone yourself. What a great set of cards. The last one is my favorite.

    Reply
  72. Just love the adorable dress card. I love the friend set also. You can never have enough butterflies either!!!!

    Reply
  73. Jenn,
    I love these cards. This stamp set is one of my favorites. Great job
    Lorita

    Reply
  74. I love, love LOVE your samples! This is my favorite of all the stamp sets in the mini.
    Thanks so much for sharing!
    Alicia

    Reply
  75. Hi there! I absolutely love the dress card. I have 2 boys and I will have to find someone to make this card and give it to. Love the other cards too-simple but beautiful!

    Reply
  76. Just totally awesome. WOW WOW WOW!!!!!
    TFS! & for a great tour
    Gayle S

    Reply
  77. Love all the fabulous samples you made. You did a great job combining it with the new LNS challenge too. I really am loving this set and believe it or not I did not order it. May have to now.

    Reply
  78. Your butterflies just make me feel terrific. I love this set, too. Anytime there is a stamp set about friends that includes butterflies…I’m loving it. Thank you!

    Gayle Taylor
    gaylememories@sbcglobal.net
    Abilene, TX

    Reply
  79. These are fabulous! Great work!!!

    Reply
  80. Jenn, I’ve visited your blog before and love your work. Thanks for sharing your creativity! This blog tour is great!

    Reply
  81. Wow, love them all, but that first one is just darling!

    Cheryl
    lovetostampandscrap@yahoo.com

    Reply
  82. I love that butterfly, too. Your cards are beautiful.

    Reply
  83. I adore that butterfyl too. Great job!

    Reply
  84. Wowzers! What awesome samples!!! Each one just kept getting better and better! That little dress with the apron is the CUTEST!!! I definitely have some ideas for trying that, thanks so much for sharing!

    Reply
  85. Wow! Love your cards. Thanks for sharing with us.

    Reply
  86. Jen

    Love the Butterfly cards they are awesome, BUT the dress is my favorite. Love how you designed it differently….TFS

    Reply
  87. Your cards are awesome!

    Reply
  88. Pingback: Butterflies for the Color Challenge « Rubber Stamping & Card Making with Yapha

Leave a Reply

