RSS Feed

Pixie Polka Dots

I got so caught up in the Blog Tour yesterday I didn’t get a lot of time to stamp. I wanted to have something to post today so I decided a Clean and Simple Challenge was the way to go. Last week I missed a lot of challenges so it was time to try to catch up. This card was made based on this bedding from JC Penny’s.  I love the simplicity of black and white, but I was drawn to the framed print above the bed and wanted to recreate that.  I started with a 4 1/4 X 11 piece of Whisper White card stock and then layered it with a 4 X 5 1/4″ piece of Basic Black and again with a 3 7/8 X 5 1/8 piece of Whisper White.  I embossed a frame on the top piece of Whisper White using my Fiskars cutter with scoring tool.  Then to make it more pronounced I went over the lines with my Bone Folder.  The circle is the 3rd from the outside on my coluzzle.  I simply attached Basic Black, Going Gray and Basic Gray circles that were punched out with the 3/4″ circle punch.  I stamped on an extra Basic Gray one with Whisper White ink and the Sweet Serendipity stamp set.  I put a vintage brad through the center and have it up on a dimensional.  I simply trimmed the edges of the circles overlapping the coluzzle circle with paper snips.  The circle is then attached with dimensionals.  I used my Stamp-a-ma-jig to stamp the sentiment from Smarty Pants. 

I finished the entire card in about 15 minutes and some of that was spent finding the show Colin wanted to watch.  We are in for a rainy week, so hopefully I’ll get a lot of stamping done. 

All supplies are Stampin’ Up! and can be purchased on my Demonstrator Website: http://igotstamps.stampinup.net
Stamps: Smarty Pants, Sweet Serendipity
Paper: Whisper White, Basic Black, Going Gray, Basic Gray
Ink: Basic Black, Whisper White craft
Accessories: 3/4″ circle punch, coluzzle, fiskars scoring blade, stamp-a-ma-jig

6 responses »

  1. Love the retro vibe of this one! Fabulous 🙂

    Reply
  2. Oh my gosh, this is clever. Love it.

    Reply
  3. This is such a fun card! I love it! I have the Smarty Pants set and have never used it! Thanks for giving me the inspiration to pull it out from the bottom of the pile!

    Reply
  4. Great card Jenn! I love the circles within the circle idea! I will have to CASE this for sure!
    – Mandy

    PS. Check out this link:
    http://messagesfrommandy.blogspot.com/2009/04/few-awards.html

    Reply
  5. Shelly Schmidt

    Great retro card! I went back to blog tour #4 and this one- you have won 2 blog candies already……Lucky you! That was fun and it was nice chatting with you on the LNS group yesterday. Everyone is very friendly! Great blog hop

    Reply
  6. Wow! This is very cool! The striking, graphic appeal of it! Fantastic job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

