RSS Feed

Mini Book Tutorial

Posted on

ETA: I’m working on a video tutorial for those of you who are visual learners.  It will be posted tomorrow. 

I know some of you have been waiting for this for a long time. If you want to see more photos of the original project you can see the blog post here.  I didn’t write down measurements as I was making the original, so I can’t say if this version is exactly the same, but I tried to duplicate it the best I can.  Since Father’s Day is coming up I thought it would be fun to make a masculine version. I hope you enjoy my tutorial and if you make one of these please post here so I can see it. Are you ready? I’m going to explain this in 3 parts: the outside of the book, the inside pages and the Post it Note Holder.

To make the outside you need a piece of card stock measuring 5 1/2 X 11″. Score your folder at 5″ and 6″. I used a 3/16″ corner rounder on the outside edges. To decorate the outside I used a Basic Gray piece measuring 4 3/4″ X 5 1/4″. The walk in the park paper is 4 5/8 X 5 1/8″. You can decorate the outside anyway you want to. I used images from And Many Mower for mine.

Here is how I decorated the front cover. When you are happy with it attach it to the front.  I used Sticky Strip because I figure it’s going to be handled and it’s a project you want to last.

To make the pages that go in the back, I made an accordian fold. I started with a piece of card stock measuring 5 1/8 X 7 and scored it at 1″, 2″, 3″, 4″, 5″ and 6″. Fold it back and forth. The pages measure 4 5/8″ X 5 1/8″. You will need 5. Score them 1″ down the 5 1/8″ side. This will allow them to open more easily to view. I used sticky strip to place my pages into the accordian folds. I rounded the top and bottom corner of each of the pages on the right hand side. When you have all of your pages in the accorian fold, use your crop-a-dile to punch 2 holes for your brads. I used circle brads. Placing sticky strip along the back of the 1″ accordian section attach your pages into the book.

The pages are decorated with Whisper White card stock that measures 3 1/2 X 5″. You will need 5 of these as well. I stamped and decorated them with designer series paper before attaching them to the Baja Breeze pages. I lined the edge up with the accordian.

Here is what the pages look like when they are attached into the book. You can see my first decorated page. I left my pages mostly blank so that I can add pictures of my kids on them.

To make the Post It Note holder you need a piece of paper measuring 5 X 4″. Score 3 sides at 1/2″ and 1″. Cut out 3 square on each side. This will form a pocket you can attach to the front inside cover. One of the 5″ sides will remain un-scored along the top. Use a 1″ circle punch to make a notch for getting the Post It Notes in and out of the pocket easily.

Decorate the front of your Post It Note holder. I used more Walk in the Park designer series paper and a strip of Whisper White card stock that was punched with the eyelet border punch.

I used my crop-a-dile- to punch holes in the spine and threaded 1″ double stitched Baja Breeze ribbon through it. I simply tied knots on the inside to hold it in place.

I hope you will enjoy making one of these for yourself or to give as a gift. The possibilities are endless. You can make them for any occasion.

Have a fantastic Friday!

33 responses »

  1. Jenn…this is UNBELIEVABLE !!!!! AMAZING !!!!! SUPER DUPER !!!! I’m so excited to make one of these…….WOWZA !!!!

    Thanks my friend !!!

    Reply
  2. this is just gorgeous TFS

    Reply
  3. I love your project. It’s very cute. Can you show the other pages too?

    Thanks for sharing…

    Reply
  4. This a wonderful project. Thanks so much for the tutorial.

    Reply
  5. What a neat project! I’ll have to try it. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  6. This is really neat. Thanks for sharing instructions!

    Reply
  7. Wow, so wonderful! Thanks for sharing, I will be sure to try this out.

    Reply
  8. This is AWESOME, Jenn! Love the book, love the tutorial. I’m going to have to try this!!

    Reply
  9. Jenn, you really are amazing! Thanks!

    Reply
  10. I love this project! Thanks for sharing the instructions!

    Reply
  11. Jenn Thanks for sharing. I can’t wait to try and make one. You are so talented; I can’t wait to check your blog each day to see your wonderful projects.

    Reply
  12. WOW!!! This is so awesome and sounds so easy – I can’t wait to try it myself!!!

    TFS and I will send you pix when I get mine done . . .

    Reply
  13. Great project, Jenn… thanks for the directions, can’t wait to try it!

    Reply
  14. Thanks for sharing this project with us, this is one cute thing to make. Love your blog and you stamping style.
    Judy

    Reply
  15. This is awesome! Thanks for sharing such a great project!

    Reply
  16. Hey, what a great idea but there is no way I could make that! You are too gifted girlfriend!

    Reply
  17. OMGosh!!! This is sooo darling!
    Becky

    Reply
  18. Jenn,
    This is incredible. TFS.

    Reply
  19. Oooh, this is super awesome!! I can’t wait to try one of these, it might have to be our stamp club project this month! Love it!

    Reply
  20. Fantastic, Jenn! thanks for sharing it!

    Reply
  21. Wow Jenn!

    These mini books are so cute! You are so very talented. I just love them!

    Julie

    Reply
  22. This is a fantastic project! Thanks so much for the tutorial!

    Reply
  23. All of these books are super cute! And thanks for a great tutorial!

    Reply
  24. Love your Mini Books! They are just adorable. Great tutorial too 😉

    Reply
  25. what a great project! thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  26. this is great!!!

    Reply
  27. Hi Jenn, this is so cute I just had to make one myself. Thank you so much for the tutorial, much appreciated. TFS
    Here’s mine if you want a peek…
    http://stampindesigns.typepad.com/blog/2009/05/this-is-a-mini-book-that-i-saw-over-at-jenn-diercks-blog-so-i-thought-i-might-have-a-go-at-making-one-myself-jenn-has-a-tu.html

    Reply
  28. Hmmm, I have no idea why the link saved like that, but anyway. Thanks!

    Reply
  29. Hi Jenn, love the tutorial! I love the stamp set – we have that one in Australia. I may have to put that on my list of ‘to do’s’ – One thing that wasn’t clear on the video was if you put sticky strip on both sides of the pages to stick them into the accordian fold? wasn’t sure as it wasn’t on the screen when you did it……

    Reply
  30. Thank you for coming up with a tutorial! Love it! ; ) isabelle

    Reply
  31. OH MY This is so adorable! I think I might have to lift this for our teachers this year.

    Reply
  32. I found this tutorial many months ago and absolutely loved it so I bookmarked the site. Now, I’ve had a chance to make one. Thanks so much for the insprition. Here’s mine:
    http://jen-icreate.blogspot.com/2010/04/mini-book.html

    Reply
  33. Hi Jenn.

    I love your work and now I’ve had a chance to make this mini book and put in my blog with link for yours
    http://www.elisadelatore.blogspot.com

    Kisses

    Reply

Leave a Reply

