RSS Feed

Updates and Such

Posted on

First, thanks for all of the support that has been rallied to keep my blog.  I will do that and I will continue to post, but with that being said I won’t start posting right away.  As many of you said I have to keep my family first and I will finish to help out with getting my Dad back to 110%.  Please hold on for a week or two and hopefully as life starts to fall back into a normal pattern I can begin to stamp again.  I guess the e-mail hit me the wrong was and personally I felt it as another way to get kicked while I was down.  As many of you said I can’t please everyone and I never realized there were so many people who depended on my blog for inspiration.  That really was a bright spot in a week where so many things have gone wrong.  My blog has always been my main creative outlet and it will continue to be when it comes to sharing my artwork and tutorials.  It will continue to be that as soon as we get my Dad put back together.  I appreciate your understanding on that matter. 

This afternoon we got the surgery schedule we have been waiting for!  Tomorrow they will fix his hip.  Roger and I will drive in for the surgery.  It does not sound like it will be as long of a process as they were originally stating.  Thursday they will fix his hand and from what I understand that is done under local anesthesia so he won’t have to be knocked out for it.  He will have to remain hospitalized after the surgery for care and for rehab.  It’s only a guess for how long that will be but will likely be about 2 weeks.  I’m sure we’ll all feel more comfortable about everything once the hip surgery is done and over with.  Please continue to keep him in your prayers.  We need all we can get going into surgery. 

If you would like to send my Dad a card to wish him a speedy recovery you can e-mail me for my address.  I will collect them and then take them to him.  My e-mail is jenn(at)igotstamps(dot)com

I will continue to let you know how my Dad is doing and hopefully everything from this point will be good news.

Thanks everyone!

39 responses »

  1. I’m so glad you decided to keep blogging and I will be right here when you get time. No rush at all – take care of your dad and your family, those are the most important things. I do want to tell you how much I enjoy your work, though, and look forward to seeing more of it one day.

    *hugs*

    Reply
  2. Glad to hear that you will not be giving up blogging. I’m sending up prayers for your dad. I look forward to your good report!

    Reply
  3. Many prayers and good thoughts getting sent your way, and welcome back!!!!

    Reply
  4. Atta girl. Now just breathe in and out…this too will pass. Hope that your dad makes it through this challenge…it won’t be easy but it will give everyone a chance to appreciate the importance of family. (I say this since my 25 year-old brother had a stroke this past weekend. I was shocked to say the least but I also bought him a plane ticket to come visit me. It made me realize that time is fleeting no matter how busy we can find ourselves!)

    Reply
  5. Jen,
    You’re dad has nine lives! But if you’re keeping count this is probably his 8th. I swear that man will be here long after I’m gone. And he’ll still be working too. I’m home Wed and Thur, have your mom call me with an update.

    Pat

    Reply
  6. Ironic ain’t it that your card is the sketch for today’s challenge? Got lots of eyes out on your creations now!

    Reply
  7. I was sooo happy to check your site today with the update that you are not giving up your blog after all!!! You just made my day a lot brighter!!

    We will continue to pray for your Dad’s speedy recovery!!

    GOD BLESS!!!!!

    Shirley

    Reply
  8. (((((((((Hugs))))))))))) First of all, thanks for the update on your dad. I’m sending him prayers for a good surgery tomorrow!

    I’m sorry you got such a crappy email and I’m glad to hear you are not closing your blog down! I would have had to come up there and make you restart it! The blog is for you foremost. Like you and others said, you can never please everyone, but I just can’t imagine the nerve of someone to email you like that. If they don’t like it, they can unsubscribe; I’m sure I’m not the only who has done that when you find you and a blog don’t mesh anymore. It’s not like their *paying* for a service where they have a right to something.

    Take care of yourself and your family and we’ll *see* you when things are good and the time is right!

    Reply
  9. Yeah, yeah, yeah!!!!! I am so glad that you won’t be stopping your blog! I am also glad that surgery for your dad is going to be okay….God is awesome – of course you dad is in my prayers as well as you and Roger while you are traveling!

    Reply
  10. Jenn, I have prayed for your Dad and am expecting God’s grace to be more than sufficient. May you be blessed with His peace and hope. This too will pass and your lives will once again return to some normalcy. No pressure here, we’ll be here when you can come back. Hugs and best wishes for your Dad and you as well.

    Reply
  11. This is a very difficult time for you & your family. Keep the faith & stay strong. Prayers are with you & your Dad. And Amen, you’re keeping your blog. WE need your inspiration. Sorry about that rotten apple in the basket. Her statement is hers alone & not felt like the rest of us. How ugly.

    Reply
  12. So sorry to hear of your dad’s accident. I am glad you decided to keep up your blogging I always enjoy seeing your amazing creations! Our Prayers are with you family.

    Reply
  13. I’m so happy to hear that you are keeping your blog. I hated that you were feeling down because of a few rude people. You rock and so does your blog! I hope all goes well with your Dads’ surgery and recovery. I saw the pictures of the car on facebook and they gave me chills. You Dad is a very lucky man.

    Reply
  14. Guess what!!! I’m crying again…..but this time they’re happy tears !!!!!! I’m so proud of you !!! You’re a warrior, girlie !!!!!
    I’m praying for your dad and your entire family !! We’ll all holding you up in our prayers and know that we’ll ALL be waiting here for you when you’re ready….until then….take care of your family !!!

    Big Proud Hugs !!!

    Reply
  15. Whew. I am SO glad you’ll keep on keeping on. Yahoo! Glad things are progressing with your dad too! Prayers!

    Reply
  16. hi jenn,
    i too am glad that you are keeping your blog. i dont have too many in my favorites folder but yours is one of them. im sorry to hear about your dad! and family does come first, prayers for you all!
    thanks for all the inspiration!
    beth (lizzier on scs)

    Reply
  17. Jenn,

    I am so glad that you have a surgery schedule for your dad! That is awesome. Day by day I hope each day he feels a bit better than the day before. May your heart and soul be filled with the prayers surrounding you and your family.

    Hugs,
    Robin

    Reply
  18. I am a “daddy’s girl” and your attention should be toward him. I will miss your blogs but understand and support you 100%. Daddy’s and daughters…you can’t beat it.

    Reply
  19. I’m so glad you’re going to keep blogging. I just discovered your blog about two weeks ago and I love it. I just love you style. Hang in there and I’ll keep you in my prayers.

    By the way…I’m African American and I just didn’t get the whole segregation thing. Whoever that was, took what you wrote that day to a whole new level.

    Keep up the good work.

    Carla,

    Reply
  20. Jen: Tell your Dad he is in my prayers…..I have had both my knees replaced and probably a hip before too long…….rehab is the best thing ever. Don’t let ANYONE ruin your day….some people are so mean spirited that it just flows out over everyone they come into contact with. Love your work and will wait to see how things go with your Dad

    Reply
  21. I haven’t been able to check your blog for the last few days. I’m so sorry to hear about your dad. I’ll be praying for him and for you, too. I’m so glad that you’re keeping your blog going once your father is better. I LOVE your blog! It’s one of my very favorites. You do wonderful work. It’s impossible to make everyone happy, and it looks like the vast majority agrees with me and loves your blog as well. Satan likes to kick us when we’re down, and I think that’s what he was trying to do to you. Now, take care of yourself, too. You don’t want to get so worn out that you get sick.

    Reply
  22. So glad you are listening to everyone who cares about you and your family. Take care and I will keep you and your family and my thoughts and prayers. You are truely an inspiration to many people who enjoy your craftiness 🙂 Take care.
    Beverly

    Reply
  23. Jenn..you have so much valuable gorgeous artwork on your blog… just keep it there, and when you can get time to create, (to give yourself a break), do it.. but I’ll keep you on my blogroll since I have always admired and loved your clean style of creativity. I understand about taking care of parents.. I had two parents that were not well for a while, and now I myself am “not up to snuff” myself as the saying goes.. but I try to keep doing something as long as I can to keep myself sane!! Good luck in your quest to get your dad up to speed.

    Reply
  24. Jen, my father was in a serious car accident eight years ago this coming June. Stamps, ink and paper will wait. People come in and out of our lives and we cannot get the time back. Life is so precious and memories are worth everything. Spend time with your father. We will miss you while you’re gone, but we’ll be waiting on you when your father is on the track to recovery and life slows down a bit. God bless your father and your family. You are all in my prayers.

    Reply
  25. Hi Jenn,

    So glad to hear your dad is doing better! I am glad you are keeping your blog and I hope everything continues to go well. Take Care Jenn and all my best wishes to you and your family!

    Reply
  26. Whew! I had no idea all this was going on, as well as your dad being injured! I thank you, Jenn, for deciding not to stop blogging, as I really love your creations! Take good care of your family and YOU right now, and we will all be here when you come back! (((((HUGS)))))

    Reply
  27. Jenn – First of all, so sorry to hear about your dad. I’ll say a prayer for him tonight. Please take care of yourself and your family. Love your blog and will look forward to seeing your creations when everything is back to normal. Get some rest and take it easy.

    Reply
  28. I cut back on blog surfing for a few days and look what happens! I almost had a heart attack when someone told me you were shutting down because of some jerk-face meanie. I’ll wait around until the cows come home for your posts, Jenn. You are a rock star, my friend. I’m proud of you for being strong for your dad. Chin up, buttercup.

    hugs, B.

    Reply
  29. First things first Jen! Wishing you and your family a quick recovery. (i say all of you, because when one is sick it seems everyone is involved). God Bless and I look forward to the time when you can stamp again.

    Reply
  30. Jenn,
    I’m so sorry to hear about your Dad. I’ll be watching for updates. Hugs!!

    Reply
  31. Jen,

    I want to wish you and your family good luck. Saying prayers for you and your family. Hugs

    Reply
  32. Buffy Cooper

    I cannot imagine what you’re going through right now. You and your family are in my prayers!

    Reply
  33. So glad you are going to keep blogging! I’m also glad you are putting first things first – your dad and the rest of your family come before us blog readers! Praying that his surgeries go well without complications and that he recovers quickly.

    Reply
  34. Jenn, I’m so very happy you decided to keep blogging and know that we will be here when you are able to get back – take care of your dad and your family. I will keep my eye out for updates on his progress and am lifting each of you up in prayer.

    Hugs to you all.

    Reply
  35. YEAH!!!! Come back yo us when your dad is well.

    Reply
  36. Jenn ~ I am sorry to hear about your Dad’s accident. My thoughts and [prayers are with you, your Dad, and family. We will definately be here when you are ready to come back to blogging. Thanks for all the past inspiration and I look forward to the future.

    Reply
  37. jenn!! i’ve been away for a while, and am so sorry to hear of your dad’s accident! i’ll add him to my prayer roll! i hope that you feel support from a bunch of people that care about you–isn’t blogland great that way?!
    good luck and please know we’ll miss you!! xooxxoox

    Reply
  38. Oh my Jenn, looks like I need to go back and catch up on what has been happening…sorry I’ve been away….but I do send my get well wishes to your dad for a speedy recovery!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

