RSS Feed

Thankful Echoes

Posted on

Can you believe that I actually got to stamp two cards yesterday? I can’t! It felt wonderful to sit and play and mess around with my crafting supplies. Yesterday was a big day! Colin promoted from Kindergarten to 1st grade. I am now a Mom of a 1st grader and a preschooler. Wow, time sure does fly.

My Dad is still at Rush University Medical Center. It looks like he’ll be transferring to Rush Copley for Rehab instead. It’s a little farther from my parent’s house but he’ll get the exercise he needs. He’s tired of sitting around in a hospital waiting. Yesterday he was able to take 6 steps. That’s wonderful for all that he has been through.

I made this card for the LNS challenge of embossing. I used 2 types of embossing on this card, an embossing folder on the designer series paper layer and heat embossing on my sentiment. The sketch is from Stamping 411. You can find it here.

To make this card:
1. Make a base using Kiwi Kiss card stock measuring 5 1/2 X 8 1/2 and scored at 4 1/4.
2. Cut your Raspberry Tart designer series paper to 4 3/8 X 3 1/8. Run it through the Big Shot with the Manhattan Textured Impressions Die and sand the raised image with a sanding block.
3. Mat your dsp on a piece of Rose Red card stock measuring 4 1/4 X 3 1/4 and then onto a piece of Whisper White card stock measuring 4 5/8″ X 3 3/8″.
4. Tie on a Whisper White organza bow and then add a Pink Pirouette button to the bow by tying it on with Linen Thread. Use a mini glue dot to secure the button and bow in place.
5. Attach this layer to the base of the card using dimensionals.
6. Stamp the image from Echoes of Kindness in Basic Gray ink on a piece of Whisper White cardstock measuring 1 7/8″ X 2 3/4. Use an AquaPainter with Pink Pirouette, Pretty in Pink, Regal Rose and Kiwi Kiss ink to color in the image.
7. Stamp the sentiment from Absolutely Fabulous in Chocolate Chip craft ink using the Stamp-a-ma-jig. Heat emboss with Crystal Clear embossing powder and a Heat tool.
8. Mat your image on a piece of Rose Red card stock measuring 2 X 2 7/8″ and attach it to the card with dimensionals.

I’d like to know if you like having the step by step instructions for the cards in the post. A few new stampers have asked how I create some of my cards so I thought this may be the easiest way to explain it. If you’d rather have a post without them let me know as well.

Have a great Tuesday! It’s day 1 of summer vacation so we’ll see how that goes.

21 responses »

  1. Barbara Joyce

    Hi Jen,

    I’m so glad to hear your Dad is progressing in his recovery. Best wishes to him, your Mom and you!

    I love having the dimensions given with the cards. The cards are inspiring, and having the detailed instructions makes it even more enticing to try the design, perhaps with variations. I think those who don’t want or need them can just skip over the directions, right?

    I’m so glad you’re back to blogging again! 🙂

    Barbara

    Reply
  2. Hi Jen,
    I’m glad to hear that things are getting a bit better for you and your family. It can really turn life upside down.
    I’m also excited/honored that you had a chance to stamp and you played with our sketch! 🙂 I (((STALK))) your blog and was so excited to see that you played. Thank you for making my day!

    Rubbah Hugs,
    Selene Kempton
    Stamping411 Operator

    Reply
  3. Hi Jenn
    Glad your Dad is able to be up and about, that is a good sign. I love having the sizes and directions for projects. Thanks for keeping your blog and sharing your projects with us. It makes my day when you post something new.

    Reply
  4. Thanks for playing with our Stamping411 Sketch, Jenn! I love your card and was thinking of using it as inspiration for my Tech Class tonight! Glad your dad is doing better!

    Reply
  5. Hi Jenn,
    Glad your dad is continuing to improve. That’s great news!

    Reply
  6. Holy cow, this is a stunner!
    Glad to hear your dad is improving!

    Reply
  7. Wow thats great. I bet it was relaxing for ya too. These last to cards have been gorgous!!! Hope you can have a berry sweet day!!!

    Reply
  8. This is gorgeous Jenn. Glad to see you’re getting to stamp – it’s a great stress reliever!! Glad to hear your father is improving too. He’s in my prayers!

    Reply
  9. Wow! Just stunning Jenn!! Love the embossing on the DSP – especially with the sanding! 🙂

    Glad to your dad is doing better. I hope they get him transferred soon so he can jump start his recovery with activity.

    Reply
  10. Jenn,
    Love the card and especially love the step by step directions. What a great addition!

    Glad to hear your dad is on his way to rehab. I hope his recovery progresses well.

    Nice to have you back 🙂

    Linda

    Reply
  11. Very beautiful card!! So glad you had time to stamp 2 cards! Happy summer vacation…and good luck! hee! hee!

    Reply
  12. Great card-love the sanding of the embossed image!

    Glad to hear good news on your dad, too!

    Reply
  13. Jenn, Great card, and thanks for the instructions…helps kick up the mojo!! Continuing to pray for speedy recovery (and patience!! during the process) for your Dad. Glad you’re able to get back to stamping! Have fun this summer! es

    Reply
  14. Love having the dimensions and step by step directions!! Thanks so much!

    Reply
  15. Great card and I love having the instructions. But what dose the sanding do? I enjoy reading your blog.

    Reply
  16. So glad that your dad is on his way to recovery!!! What wonderful news!!!

    I love reading your blog everday, and love having the directions and dimensions that you give! So glad you are getting back into the groove of stamping!

    Reply
  17. Wow ! Your card is so gorgeous, great job !

    Reply
  18. Love the card you submitted. It’s so soft and pretty.
    Congratualtions on your win too!
    Lee

    Reply
  19. As usual your work is beautiful, congratulations on being picked as a favorite on the 411 blog this week.
    Diane

    Reply
  20. Well, I admire you work and visit your blog often, and like the directions to your cards! so congratulations on being picked on the top 5 card entries! I always seem to struggle with layouts! your cards have inspired me! TFS, hugs always!

    Reply
  21. Beautiful! Thanks so much for sharing the directions….I am going to need to make it!
    Lezlie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

