RSS Feed

Wishing You All This . . . And More!

Posted on

I can’t tell you how nervous I am to post this card. Never in my dreams did I imagine making it into the Top 5 over at 2 Sketches 4 You! This is my Top 5 card for the 1st Annual Ultimate Card Showdown.  This journey has been an amazing experience, but each week I put more and more pressure on myself to produce the best possible card with the sketch that I can. I also try to make them of different styles. This card is very outside of the box for me. First it’s based on the Tall Tales designer series paper and images within it. There is very little stamping on this card and that is just for the sentiment.  I wanted to create a Fairy Tale card and I think I accomplished that with the images I selected.

The base of the card is Brilliant Blue.  I can honestly say I think this is the first time I’ve used this color.  I layered it with So Saffron. The Old Olive has the top and bottom cut out with the Circle Scissors and I did the same for the Designer Series Paper layer to make doors.  After I attached the dsp to the Old Olive card stock I scored the edges at 1/4″ so that they will open easily when the bow is untied.  The tree covers the notch in the center and is secured to the bow.  I added a So Saffron button with Linen Thread to complete the look.

Here is a close up of the birds on the front of the card. I cut them out and popped them up on the tree. The tree sits on a Brilliant Blue scallop circle that is only seen when the card is opened. It gives it more stability.

When you untie the ribbon the “doors” open onto a fairy tale scene.  The hot air balloon around the giraffe is 3D.  I used two of the same imaged and layered them on top of each other.  A craft knife allowed me to easily cut out the image around the strings that attach the balloon to the basket.  There is also a 3D cloud.  The modern label punch has part of the sentiment from Best Wishes & More stamped in Brilliant Blue and Chocolate Chip. I added vintage brads before attaching it to the front of the card.

This is the inside of the card. I stamped the rest of the sentiment in Versamark and heat embossed it with White embossing powder. I punched it out with the Full Heart punch and attached it with dimensionals. More dsp and another 3D hot air balloon finish off the inside of the card.

I hope you enjoy my entry.  I think I accomplished all I set out to and I am pleased with the result.  Good luck to the other 4 ladies!  I look forward to seeing your entries.

I was a little premature in typing up my post last night.  My Dad did move to a new Rehab facility but he was rushed to the ER last night when he complained about shortness of breath.  He is now in the hospital he started at and will be for at least 24 hours.  Keep those prayers coming.  Hopefully this will be one of the last hurdles he has to overcome.

All products are Stampin’ Up! and can be purchased via my Demonstrator Website: http://igotstamps.stampinup.net


Subscribe to My Newsletter

33 responses »

  1. WOw! Wow! Wow!! Jenn, this just blows me out of the water! I’m looking at the work of an Artisan Winner next year! Send all these in! hee! hee! Good luck with the contest this weekend, I’ll be on pins and needles for you!

    I hope your dad is going to be okay, I’m sending more prayers!

    Reply
  2. i’ll keep your dad in my prayers, for sure!
    this card is such a work of art – it is amazing!! i could never part with this one, if i were able to muster anything that was similar. what a wonderful job!!!

    Reply
  3. Amazing Jenn! This card is supurb! It’s easy to see how much detail and care has gone into it. Congrats on making it so far and I’ve got my fingers crossed for you!
    Best Wishes for your Dad too! xx

    Reply
  4. WOW! This is amazing, Jenn! It’s like a storybook … so much depth and interest! Great job!

    Reply
  5. Oh you sure did make this a story book card. I love every sweet thing about it. SO Sweet thanks for sharing your fun card.

    Reply
  6. Stunning Jenn! Yor attention to detail is awesome! We hope your dad feels better:)
    Thanks for playing at 2S4Y!
    Laura & Kazan

    Reply
  7. wow very beautiful!!!

    Reply
  8. Jenn!! This is truly a masterpiece!! So many intricate pieces and so many details to look at! Congratulations on making it to the Top 5 – it was easy to see why! I wish you the very best of luck this week! 😀

    Reply
  9. Wow, Jenn, this card is amazing! Seems like a lot of work to me and I love every single detail. Succes!

    Reply
  10. First off all I hope your dad is feeling better.
    And awesome what a great card you’ve made seems a lot of work love every detail of it. Good luck.

    Reply
  11. Hi Jenn,

    That card is beautiful! And I always have you and your family in my thoughts and prayers.

    Pat

    Reply
  12. Your dad is always in my thoughts and prayers. Hope he is feeling better today. Good luck with you card, it is stunning!

    Reply
  13. I saw these DSP last night and they are on my next stamp club order for sure! This card rocks Jenn. You hit the nail on the head. Best of luck to you.

    Reply
  14. Jenn,
    Congratulations on being in the Top Five. Your card is beautifully amazing – truly a winner! Best of luck to you. We continually pray for your dad’s recovery.

    Reply
  15. Wow! what a wondeful card! Congratulations on being the top 5 good luck to you I am sure this card will win!

    Reply
  16. Jenn, you have created an amazing card, complex…leaving one excited to ‘turn’ the next page! Best wishes on being selected!

    I will pray for your Dad.

    Reply
  17. wow! you totally blew my away! your card is super awesome! so much fun stuff! adorable cute animals! Good luck!

    Clouds 😀

    Reply
  18. Wow, this is amazing and so beautiful!! Good luck and I hope your dad is feeling better!

    Reply
  19. WOW! I love all the layers and the details. Best of luck to you!

    Reply
  20. Jenn,
    This is so creative and out of the box, totally stunning!!! I love it.
    Good Luck!!
    hugs
    Latisha

    Reply
  21. this is completely amazing! it really shows why you are a top 5 finalist. So creative! loving the trees and the hot air balloons and well just EVERYTHING! Congratulations on a job well done!!!!

    Reply
  22. Wow! Gorgeous card Jen! Congratulations on the top 5 and best wishes this week too :0)

    Reply
  23. Fabulous card! Love the birds and the hot-air balloon… great colors! Good luck to you too. :o)

    Reply
  24. What an amazing card! I can’t even believe all of the neat details! Congrats on your win so far.

    Reply
  25. fab card – beautiful colours and a great idea. congrats on getting to top 5

    Reply
  26. Jenn, I LOVE LOVE LOVE how you decorated the inside as well. This card is a little piece of art in its own right and I think you are very brave for using the brilliant blue – I am still too scared to work with it but you nailed it, girl!
    Awesome card

    Reply
  27. Congratulations for reaching the final 5 and good luck for the finale.

    Hope all goes well with your Dad, sounds like he’s been through it and hope he pulls through okay.

    Good luck xxx

    Reply
  28. Gorgeous card, Jenn. You’re a very talented stamper and card maker. Great take on this week’s sketch. Good luck to you!

    Hope your dad is doing well.

    Reply
  29. Just beautiful! I love all the details, inside and out!

    Reply
  30. Absolutely gorgeous, Jenn!!! You did a great job
    Good luck!

    Reply
  31. Incredible detail – congratulations and good luck! Prayers for your Father! Cathy xx:)

    Reply
  32. Gorgeous…I love how you designed each of the panels of your card….great detail work! Good Luck to you!!

    Reply
  33. Jenn – this is simply fantabulous and perfect – love the details on the front and then on the inside of the front and then on the inside – beautiful – what lovely colors and sweet textures – simply gorgeous!!!
    Best wishes!
    Sankari 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

