RSS Feed

Out of the Box Birthday

Posted on

This week the Clean and Simple Challenge was Birthday Cards. I decided to try out the new Fall to Layout from Clean and Simple Stamping.  The first pack of Designer Series paper to call out to me in the new catalog was Thoroughly Modern.  I love the color combination in it.  It is so fun and fresh.  I chose to go with a Kraft card stock base, although Sahara Sand would work as well.  I used a strip of Bermuda Bay designer series paper from the Thoroughly Modern package and paired it with the new Level I Hostess set Out of the Box.  I really like this set.  I also used On Your Birthday.

To make this card:
1. Cut your Kraft card stock to 5 1/2 X 8 1/2″ and score at 4 1/4″.
2. Use your stamp-a-ma-jig to stamp your sentiment from On Your Birthday in Soft Suede ink.
3. Cut your Thoroughly Modern dsp to 1″ X 4 1/4″ and attach to card base.
3. Cut a Rose Red layer to 2 3/8″ X 2 5/8″ and a Whisper White layer to 2 1/4″ X 2 1/2″.
4. Stamp the box and spring from Out of the Box in Soft Suede. Attach the layers together and tie on a 1/4″ Chocolate Chip ribbon. Attach to base.
5. Stamp the cupcake from Out of the Box in Rose Red on Whisper White and cut out. Pop up on a dimensional and attach to your main image layer.

Today Colin has his eye appointment. He’ll probably have to have his prescription checked, but we are nearing the time where his amblyopia might be stabilizing and we may not have to patch for much longer. We’ll find out later this afternoon. I’m sure if he has his prescription changed we’ll be headed to Lens Crafters to get new glasses. He loves getting new glasses.

I hope you have a fantastic weekend! I’ll see you back here on Monday. I’m taking the weekend off to enjoy it with my family. I know all too well how precious the time is and how quickly you can lose it.

All products are Stampin’ Up! and can be purchased via my Demonstrator Website: http://igotstamps.stampinup.net

Stamps: Out of the Box, On Your Birthday
Paper: Kraft, Thoroughly Modern, Rose Red, Whisper White
Ink: Soft Suede, Rose Red
Accessories: Stamp-a-ma-jig, dimensionals, 1/4″ chocolate Chip grosgrain ribbon


Subscribe to My Newsletter

5 responses »

  1. This is so cute, Jenn! Simple and sweet!

    Reply
  2. So pretty! Love how the colors pop out at you.

    Reply
  3. good thing someone is smarter than me- i didn’t understand this set- thanks to you I ‘get it”
    thanks

    Reply
  4. Love it! This dp is the first one I got too!

    Reply
  5. I must agree with everyone else, this is a truly superb card, you are really talented to have made it. I have tried so hard before to create a birthday greeting card which my friends will like, but I am not very good at arts and crafts to be honest. I am quite good at baking though, so hopefully I can be forgiven? Does anyone else make their own birthday cards and if so any tips for beginners?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

