RSS Feed

A little change in comments

ETA: Karen sent me a message with a plugin that may help, so for now I’ve left the comments on.  Hopefully this will work better than moderation I have on.  If you have any issues leaving comments please let me know.  Sometimes when I’ve changed or added plugins they do wonky things.  A few weeks ago I updated Google Analytics and it messed up my feed in Google Reader.

I wanted to let you know that I’m only going to be keeping comments open on posts for a week or two due to the sheer number of spam comments I am getting lately. Normally most comments or questions are posted and answered in that time frame, so it probably won’t be a big deal to those of you who normally post comments. While I do have comment moderation in place it is taking up a good deal of time to get rid of the spam messages – we’re talking upwards of 50 or more a day lately. If you have any questions on a post that has comments turned off please feel free to e-mail me.  There is a link under my photo.  If you click on “written permission” you will be able to e-mail me your question and I will get back to you.  Thanks for you understanding in this!  Since the spam is mostly on older posts hopefully this will cut down on my time spent getting rid of these comments and will likely result in more time spent stamping.

2 responses »

  1. There is a WordPress plugin you can use that is awesome – no more spam.

    http://www.hybrid6.com/webgeek/plugins/wp-spamfree

    Of course you get tons more traffic than I do, so I dont’ know if it will hold up, but I was getting 20 or so spam messages a day and after the pluggin, nothing. Even though I haven’t blogged in a month, I installed the pluggin a few months ago so it was active while I was active. HTH!!

    Reply
  2. Darn those spammers! They never give up. I’ve been thinking of starting my own blog, so it’s good to read about other bloggers’ experiences.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

