RSS Feed

Splendid Thoughts and a Spam Update

I first want to say that Karen was a fantastic help to me! I installed the Plugin she suggested, blocked one IP address and I have not gotten a single Spam message in 3 days! Therefore, I will not need to close comments on posts that seem to get a lot of spam. Thanks Karen! For those of you with a WordPress blog and lots of spam see this post for the Plugin information. It’s Fabulous!

Yesterday I played around with the sketch at 2 Sketches 4 You.  I loved it so much I made a few to take with to Cincinnati on Saturday to swap.  Because of the amount of time it took to make these I only made 5 but I hope whoever gets one will love it.  I used Autumn Splendor and Grateful Greetings from the Holiday Mini catalog and paired it with Autumn Traditions designer series paper from the Idea Book and Catalog.

To make this card:
Dimensions:
Elegant Eggplant 5 X 10 scored at 5
Ruby Red 4 5/8″ square
Autumn Traditions dsp 4 1/2″ square and cut with scallop circle die
Always Artichoke 2 1/8 X 2 5/8
Whisper White 2 X 2 1/2

Steps:
1. Spray Ruby Red layer with water and run through the Big Shot with the Stampin’ Up! Perfect Details Texturz Plate. Sponge edges with Ruby Red ink and add paper piercing.
2. Run Autumn Traditions dsp through the Big Shot with the Scallop Circle Bigz die. Attach to Ruby Red layer. Attach Soft Suede Polka Dot ribbon with a sewing machine.
3. Stamp the leaf from Autumn Splendor in Basic Gray ink. Watercolor with Old Olive and Always Artichoke ink and an AquaPainter. Attach to Always Artichoke card stock and then to the card with dimensionals.

I thought of using the Cracked Glass technique on the main image layer, but I didn’t have enough Glassy Glaze to do the main image for 5 cards.  But it would be a lovely effect if you wanted to make this card and step it up a bit. 

Tonight I will pick the winner of my blog candy and I will announce the winner here tomorrow.  I hope you have a fabulous Tuesday!  I’m going to work on some more swap cards for this weekend.  I normally take about 20 – 25 with, or that is what I’ve been able to manage in the past.  I’m looking forward to a fun Regional, so if you are there please stop by and say hi!

All products are Stampin’ Up! and can be purchased via my Demonstrator Website: http://igotstamps.stampinup.net

Stamps: Grateful Greetings #116511, Autumn Splendor #116503
Paper: Elegant Eggplant #105126, Ruby Red #102030, Autumn Traditions dsp #115668, Always Aritchoke #105119, Whisper White #100730
Ink: Basic Gray #109120, Old Olive #102277, Always Artichoke #105219
Accessories: Big Shot #113439, Perfect Details Texturz Plate #115962, Scallop Circle #113468, Soft Suede Polka Dot Ribbon #115612, Sponge Dauber #102892, Mat Pack #105826, Paper Piercer #116631, AquaPainter #103954, Dimensionals #104430

7 responses »

  1. Darling! I love your work 🙂 Thanks for playing at 2S4Y!
    Laura

    Reply
  2. simply gorgeous!

    Reply
  3. Stunning card. Have a great time at regionals!

    Reply
  4. Jenn, I love what you did with this leaf stamp! I didn’t think I had that one til I looked and saw that it was Autumn Splendor, so I DO have it! I’m gonna be casing this card!

    Susan, aka Soozie4Him on SCS

    Reply
  5. Very nice!! I didn’t think I liked that leaf set, but you’re making me look at it differently now, thanks!

    Reply
  6. The shape and pattern of the leaf “blend” with the pattern paper. Color coordination just fits everything into place. Very nice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

