RSS Feed

September Tour de Freaks


Welcome to the September Tour de Freaks. This month it’s my turn to be the 1st stop on the tour. However, it does make a complete circle so if you came here from Cindy Major’s blog, welcome!  I have no doubt that she shared some fabulous projects with you.  There are 15 stops on the tour so please make sure to visit them all. This month the theme is Fall, Halloween and Thanksgiving. I love all things Fall and Halloween and Thanksgiving are two of my favorite holidays. I had a million ideas running loose in my head, but I narrowed it down to just a few so I don’t slow the tour down.

My first project is a spooky Halloween card.  I just love this image from House of Haunts and I paired it up with the fun papers from Cast-a-Spell Designer Series paper.  I pulled colors right from the package and threw in Elegant Eggplant to add to the night time scene.  I even tried to make some spooky shadows lingering in the windows.  The sentiment is from Spooky Treats Rub Ons.  I put it on Basic Gray, sponged the edges and drew in some stitches with my Basic Black Stampin’ Write Marker.  I don’t know about you, but my Basic Black ink takes forever to dry and I’m actually able to heat emboss with it.  The house is embossed in Crystal Clear Embossing powder and the windows, gravestones and grass are watercolored in with an AquaPainter before they were embossed.  I then used sponges, Pale Plum, Perfect Plum and Elegant Eggplant classic inks to sponge in the sky.  It’s really spooky, but the fun happens when you open it.

That’s right the Christmas Tree Pop Up die is not just for Christmas. Look at this spooky tree, complete with a Pumpkin Pie and Elegant Eggplant Medallion Tree skirt. The sentiment is from Grateful Greetings. I dressed up the tree with Natural Hemp Twine and more Spooky Treats Rub Ons. I put them on Whisper White card stock before cutting them out and adhering them to the tree.

You can’t have a Spooky card without some candy to go with it. Well where is the candy? I wanted to show you the lovely Spooky Brocade Decor Element. Isn’t it fun? I applied it to a glass jar that I picked up at a big box craft store. I then attached a wide Pumpkin Pie striped ribbon, Chocolate Chip corduroy button threaded with Linen thread and then attached a tag I made with the Holiday Best Hostess stamp set. I colored it with markers before punching it out and sponging the edges with Old Olive ink.

Now aren’t you glad I showed you the details of the jar before filling it with candy. You wouldn’t have seen all of the fabulous spindly legs of the spider and the details of the brocade if I hadn’t.

So let’s move onto a card that can be used just for Fall or for the Thanksgiving holiday.

This is based on a card by Karen Burniston. She is gracious enough to share her files for her lovely Pop Up Tree cards with Stampin’ Up! demonstrators.  As you can see, I used the corduroy brads, the fold and the ribbon like she did.  I changed just about everything else and I love it.  The base is Close to Cocoa and I paired it with with Autumn Traditions Designer Series Paper and Elegant Eggplant.  I stamped the leaves from Autumn Splendor in More Mustard, Ruby Red and Always Artichoke and then colored them in with an AquaPainter and included Old Olive in the mix.  The acorns are stamped in Soft Suede and colored with Chocolate Chip and Creamy Caramel.  I added the sentiment from Grateful Greetings on a Large Oval punch with a Ruby Red scallop oval punch.  Since I gave away it’s a pop up card, I bet you are anxious to see the inside.

Here it is in all it’s glory! Again the Medallion stamp makes the perfect tree skirt. This time I have Ruby Red berries on a Chocolate Chip textured card stock tree that has been run through the Big Shot with the Finial Press embossing folder. It’s it so rich and luxurious? I also used more Autumn Traditons paper, Kraft Taffeta ribbon, a silver ribbn slide and more Autumn Splendor leaves. This time they are cut out and up on dimensionals. The sentiment is from Holiday Best.

I hope you enjoyed my projects. It’s now time to head over to Wendy Janson’s blog. Simply click the button below to continue on your tour.

All products are Stampin’ Up! and can be purchased via my Demonstrator Website: http://igotstamps.stampinup.net

35 responses »

  1. Fabulous! Just fabulous!!!

    Reply
  2. Jenn, this is absolutely stunning!

    Reply
  3. Sooo nicely done, Jenn!! I love how you showed us that the Christmas Tree pop-up die isn’t just for Christmas!! (And the spooky shadows in the window of the haunted house are a clever idea!). Awesome all the way around! 🙂

    Reply
  4. A Halloween tree — love it!!!

    Reply
  5. Oh my stars girl what a talent you are. Very clever ideas and way to use the tree. These are all things that are just begging to be CASEd. I am really enjoying the September tour.

    Carey
    pedstamper at sbcglobal dot net

    Reply
  6. WOW! You rock, rock, ROCK!!! I’m so happy that tree is coming in my next order…LOL!

    hugs,
    Brandi

    Reply
  7. These are awesome! I really like the decorative jar you made and show it before and after it’s filled with candy. I’m just now noticing it matches the From the Crypt set I have.

    Reply
  8. Totally fabulous… just amazing… LOVE them all ! Thanks for the great tour! 🙂 Patty

    Reply
  9. WOW!!!!!!!!!! I love the trees…so festive for the different holidays! AND, the jar is gorgeous! The tree is on the way to my house this week…can’t wait to play!

    Reply
  10. WOW what a great job you did! Very creative!

    Reply
  11. Wow, great creations!

    Reply
  12. Awesome, awesome projects Jenn…grat job!!!
    Becky

    Reply
  13. This is my first Tour De Freaks, and I must say this is a great start. You have some great projects.

    Reply
  14. Wow, the halloween tree is just amazing.

    Reply
  15. Jackie Wible Souder

    Great ideas! I love the Halloween tree. My sister actually puts up a Halloween tree every year for her annual Halloween Party.

    Reply
  16. Oh my! That Halloween tree is so cool! Great to see it used for something other than Christmas. Fabulous projects.

    Reply
  17. OMG! All of your projects are so spooky cool! I want to come to your house to play! 🙂 TFS all of these cool things!

    Reply
  18. Oh my gosh I love all of your projects. They are amazing! :o)

    ~*Priscilla Aguilar*~
    http://faeriedreamsandpaperwishes.blogspot.com

    Reply
  19. That is just outrageous! Those trees are just unbelievable. You really are the best! Hope your fair thingy was good today.

    Reply
  20. Jenn…each and every one of your projects is ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE!!!

    Reply
  21. Wow Jenn, your creations are all fabulous! I can’t pick a favorite! You are definitely rocking that tree!

    Reply
  22. WOW projects Jenn!!! The trees are outstanding!

    Reply
  23. Jenn, I don’t comment often because I get your blog in my email reader, but your stuff is SO. TOTALLY. AWESOME. Thank you so much for sharing!!!!!!!

    Reply
  24. I absolutely love that scary tree with the crows!!! Very creative!!!

    Reply
  25. Each one is better than the last. Awesome!

    Reply
  26. I love everything Halloween, so this is right up my alley! I just bought the tree die and now I cannot wait to receive it. It looks so great done as an Halloween tree!
    Great job putting all those tour projects together, you did great work!

    Cindy 🙂

    Reply
  27. LOVE everything! The jar especially caught my eye!

    Reply
  28. I love the Halloween tree and the jar, although I think you could see the design better if you lined the inside of the jar with plain cardstock before putting the candy in….. thanks for the wonderful ideas!

    Reply
  29. wow, Jenn — great job on everything. The tree especially is absolutely fabulous! Way to go!!! Great to be on the tour with you! Blessings, Gretchen — http://www.gretchenbarron.typepad.com

    Reply
  30. Jenn,
    These projects are incredible…every single one of them! Fantastic job!

    Reply
  31. Jenn,
    Love the Edgar Allen Poe tree! Superb job on all your projects, lorijane

    Reply
  32. Jenn – your work blows me away! Love that Halloween tree with the crows, the glass jar…all of it! Fantastic!

    Reply
  33. I love your haunted card, but even more I am so excited about the card with the tree. It’s so wonderful and can be saved and used as part of the decorating from season to the next. I love to change our home with the different seasons and this would be a perfect addition. Thanks for sharing. Cathy T

    Reply
  34. Jenn! These are fabulous! I love the colors in your Halloween card and love that tree die! Super job!

    Reply
  35. I had it on my “to do” list to comment on September’s blog tour postings, and I’m only now getting around to it! I love Halloween, so your projects are a huge hit with me 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

