RSS Feed

Thoroughly Modern Altered File Folders

Happy Fall! It’s always my favorite time of the year. Besides being the 1st day of fall it’s also my 8th wedding anniversary. Evan and I have to head out in a bit to pick up Roger’s gift. I have an idea of what I want to get it’s just a matter of finding it at the store. Yesterday I decided not to post so that anyone who didn’t have time to take the Tour de Freaks would have a chance to and it would stay at the top of my page.

This weekend while at the crop I decided to start on a few Christmas gifts using the Thoroughly Modern File Folders. I first saw them in the Stampin’ Success magazine sent to demonstrators and put a sticky note on the page to mark it. When Patty Bennett posted the tutorial on her blog I knew I just had to try it out, but I never had enough time until this past weekend.

I added a bow to the front of my folder, but I do not have it tied closed. When I had made Wish Lists about a year ago at my Open House everyone loved them but they commented that they didn’t want to have to re-tie a bow every time they wanted to jot down a note. Therefore this closes with a piece of Velcro and the bow is stationary.

Here is a peek at the inside of the folder. I have ideas for finishing it off, but again I have to find a moment to get it done. I plan to make a few cards to stick in the front pocket and decorate a pen to match. This is a very economical gift. When you purchase the file folders from Stampin’ Up! you get 12 for only $10.95. That works out to $0.91 per folder. As it is now the entire project cost about $1.50. Throw in a few cards and a pen and you have a gift that is under $5 but certainly doesn’t look like it.

Well I’m off to the store before it starts to rain more. I hope you have a fantastic Tuesday and I’ll be back tomorrow with another project to share.

All products are Stampin’ Up! and can be purchased via my Demonstrator Website: http://igotstamps.stampinup.net

Thorougly Modern File Folders #115692

4 responses »

  1. Wow, I should read more closely. I didn’t realize you get 12 in the package and for some reason had it in my head that there were only 3. I had avoided getting these. Your project is so cute, and I think I’ll be adding these to my order that’s been sitting there waiting for any last minute additions. Love it!

    Reply
  2. OH, I love this! I NEED to make one now! Thanks for sharing and Happy Anniversary!

    Reply
  3. This is so cool. Perfect little gift for a friend or teacher. Hope you’re well. You know how to use your product lady!

    Reply
  4. Great look Jenn. I tried to email you with an old email address but it bounced back to me so I’ll ask my question here:

    I just made one of these altered file folders last weekend at a downline meeting — without embellishment. And I’ve been wondering what to do to spark it up. Obviously I like your ribbon idea. Did you use eyelets? I don’t quite see any. If you did, how did you get them there—with the old SU! Tool kit? I have some ideas but thought I’d ask you first. 🙂

    Thanks a bunch, ~Blythe

    Reply

Leave a Reply

